Ganged vs. Unganged - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2011, 12:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming, USA
Posts: 58
Default Ganged vs. Unganged

So I see all this stuff about unganged being better for quad cores, is this actually true? I get the concept that theoretically unganged allows more RAM freed up for each core. But has anyone actually tested this stuff?
__________________

BloodyMercy is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 08:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Ganged vs. Unganged

I have absolutely no idea what your talking about.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 10:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming, USA
Posts: 58
Default Re: Ganged vs. Unganged

I believe ganged/unganged is just another term for dual/single channel. Not real sure though, that is just how it lists on my POST. Unganged, I use an ASUS mobo.
BloodyMercy is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 10:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Ganged vs. Unganged

If you are talking about RAM, dual channel is a norm these days. Almost no one uses single channel.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 10:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Ganged vs. Unganged

If someone is saying single channel is better with Quad cores I would quit listening to them. If this were true then both Intel and AMD would be eliminating the dual channel controller on the cpu's with quad cores.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 10:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming, USA
Posts: 58
Default Re: Ganged vs. Unganged

Why is my Phenom II default set for single/unganged then?
BloodyMercy is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 10:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Ganged vs. Unganged

It's not. Your motherboard maybe set for single channel because of the memory your using or any other number of reasons. But the cpu itself is meant to run in dual channel mode for optimal performance.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-22-2011, 11:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming, USA
Posts: 58
Default Re: Ganged vs. Unganged

okay, the mem wasn't on the QVL at the PC3 10600 version but was for the higher versions, so I figured it would be fine. Maybe that is the issue, or maybe unganged is indicative of something else all together if you haven't heard the term before?
__________________

BloodyMercy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.