This gaming rig ok? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2005, 11:49 PM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Wish I came here before I bought my PC...man you guys know your ****.
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 01:24 AM   #32 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 84
Default

go with the san diego 3700+. its on a 90nm process, 2.2ghz, 1mb cache. it also runs cool and is one of the most overclockable processors.
__________________

__________________
MCSE Certified (passed on second try lol). But am only 15.
TechKid is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 07:20 AM   #33 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

I agree, the San Diego is held on the faster processors whereas the Venice is seen on the slower ones. You don't see any FX processors with a Venice core but a San Diego.

Newcastle is out of the question. Winchester is even newer than that.

For your PSU, I would go with the OCZ 520w Modstream for $105. If you're getting a 6800 GT, you will want extra power just to be safe. Spend the extra bucks for safety. I honestly just see no reason to save some $20 if you are at risk for stability and won't be able to get full potential out of your hardware (overclocking for example).

Antec is a reliable brand, but 430w just seems incredibly borderline for your system. You will be able to run things undoubtedly, but like caseyc said some while ago, under load things could be a different story.

I garauntee you that the 520w Modstream will run perfectly with no problems whatsoever (assuming the PSU is functioning properly). I run the 520w Powerstream which is an upgraded version to the Modstream, and it has saved my butt when I decided to do stupid things with boot.

You're basically going over budget to buy this more expensive modstream 520w to garauntee that you won't be buying your parts again and spending triple your budget.

Don't be that guy!
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 08:25 AM   #34 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

430 watt is definitly a little edgy for a 6800 GT, as the geforce 6 series is known to power hungry. Id go with the OCZ even if u arent overclocking to ensure the survival of your system. Literally.

Antec and OCZ are both top brands. If u are set against OCZ 4 sum reason, go with a larger antec
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 08:35 AM   #35 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

I bought a 370W power supply from enermax..

i found somewhere that a pentium 4 i think, with the ultra..(?) took up something like 280 or something... i dunno, but it wasnt near to 370..

Im pretty sure this 370 psu will do the trick..

I would then say that saying 430W is edgy for a 6800gt.. must be false.. ?

Not really sure, not into psu's.. but im pretty sure that it will cope nicely.
Xiahou is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 08:54 AM   #36 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Xiahou
i found somewhere that a pentium 4 i think, with the ultra..(?) took up something like 280 or something... i dunno, but it wasnt near to 370.
Yeah, probably while the system was completely idle. Under load, if you have an insufficient power supply, your system will just fail to run, and you can risk damaging your hardware if you have a no-name brand.

430w is very borderline. It will definitely power the system, but there is no 100% garauntee that the system won't crap out when under heavy loads.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 09:00 AM   #37 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

lol, ill just hope my psu will do fine..
__________________

Xiahou is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.