Gaming Proformance on HDs - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2005, 07:11 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Like chris said, the only 'performance' gain you'd notice from a 10K RPM drive is the fact the game would up and running within seconds, assuming you have also 1gb of RAM. With 512mb loading can be cut a little and on real intensive games choppiness can occur. With 1gb though that smoothes everything like butta....1gb of RAM and a 10K RPM drive = fast load times, fast level load times...you wouldn't see more FPS though
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by senseless
If you have 2gb of ram, your video game should be able to load itself entirely into memory(you'll notice a difference then). Running your programs off of a raptor is only going to make them load 1s quicker. The difference is roughly 10-20mb/s. Ide drives usually get 48-52mb/s, Satas (believe it or not, ive got the benchmarks to back it up) are actually SLOWER in a single drive configuration than ide drives. You'll get like 45mb/s off a standard 7200rpm 8mb cache sata drive. Once you pair them in raid 0 you'll get like 70-80mbs. Raptors are quicker, running at 60-70mb/s as individual drives. But their price makes them an ineffective os drive. I have 1gb of ram in my system, games like HL2, starwars galaxies, and counterstrike never have to load anything off my drives. Besides of course, the initial load into memory.

my suggestion, dont waste your money. Get an 80gb ide 7200rpm 8mb cache drive for your OS and games/programs.
Well I'll need more then 80 Gig... I'm using like 400 Gig right now and I'll only need more as games get larger. But thanks for the help
__________________

__________________
Horn if you\'re a honkey
Qwert is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Thats why you get seperate drives for your data. That way you can do smart things like make images of your OS drive. So when something crashes you have an image file to restore from. The 300gb 7200rpm 16mb cache maxtor drive would be a good OS drive.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 08:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Wait, I'm confused...

Okay, what does an image help?
__________________
Horn if you\'re a honkey
Qwert is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 08:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

It takes 80gb worth of data, and compresses it to a 5gb file image. You can copy the file onto dvd, or whatever. If your windows installation goes poop. You stick your cd in, load ghost.exe from a dos prompt. Overwrite your OS drive with the data contained on the image file. Boom, you're back up in less than 5 mins.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

how do you make the image file?
__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

There are a few programs which you can use, the most popular are:

Acronis www.acronis.com
pcangel
norton ghost www.symantec.com
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.