Gaming PC & Video Card Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2005, 10:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 44
Default Gaming PC & Video Card Help

I just built a Gaming PC:

AMD Athlon FX-53
1.00 GB Ballistix Ram
Asus A8N- Deluxe SLI
Duel 6600 gt's
Raptor hardrive
Sound Audigy Soundblaster plat pro

i was wondering how to set up my video cards for gaming also my prosseser i saw on my video card that you can do application controlled or you can set the AA and AT myself but i can also set it up in the game my monitor goes to a max res of 1600x1200 it should be a power machine i just want to set it up to get the most out of it i dont know what setting to put it at for my games HL2 Doom3 Far Cry all the big names and big graphic punchers.
__________________

Juice476 is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 12:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

You want to know how to put them in sli mode or do you want to know the best configuration options for max performance (which also degrades quality)?
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 12:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Its best to let your game manage your settings, unless its an older game that doesn't support AA and AF, then you use the CP to force the driver to apply AA and AF. In the case of Doom 3, you get noticable performance increase by letting the game itself manage AA and AF settings rather than the driver.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 12:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

hmm w/ that stuff it sounds like the voodoo system i was playin on back in november i think. (rubs chin searching for previously shaved hairs) i mean balistix ram, that asus board paired w/ FX-53? perty sceptical. but its all good.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 02:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 44
Default

ya i want to know what i should have every thing tweaked to i thought i would just let the game do it but like i said i didnt know which way is better

P.P. Mguire what do you mean sceptical?
__________________
AMD Althlon FX-53
2x 6600 gt\'s
Asus A8N Deluxe SLI
1 GB Ballistix Ram
Windows XP Pro SE
Raptor Hardrive
Sound Audigy Plat Pro
Juice476 is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 03:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 44
Default

bump
__________________

Juice476 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.