games run slow on batt. power - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2004, 11:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Default games run slow on batt. power

Hello, I have a new compaq presario, and when I try to play games on a fully charged battery, the game runs real slow. Is this normal? The games run fine with the ac cord plugged in. Thanks.

kileak is offline  
Old 05-01-2004, 12:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504

Sometimes laptops will underclock themselves a little when not plugged in to save battery life. Try going into the power options and turning off all the power saving options, this might help to tell the computer that you dont want any of that. My dell underclocked to 1.6 ghz from 3.0 when i didnt have it plugged in. Thats a pretty huge difference and I cant exactly remember what I did to fix it, but I imagine that is your problem.

<img src = \"\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 05-01-2004, 01:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29

Yes, that is normal. Your graphics card and (in some cases) your CPU are both running slower when on battery power to save battery life. What kind of video card do you have? For nVidia cards, go to Display Properties -> Settings -> Advanced -> (tab with name of card). In the right hand column, click on PowerMizer and move the slider for Batter Power to Maximum Performance. The settings for ATI cards should be similar.

As for the CPU, I dont know how to disable power saving. I beleive Power Options only allows you to set after how long you want the computer to go into Standby/Hibernation and does not determine CPU performance on battery.

If you do this, your battery life will suffer. My sugestion is to play plugged in. Or play something that isn't as graphically intensive so you don't lose battery life.
aye29 is offline  
Old 05-01-2004, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

true, my Laptop has like the first P4. it's 1.6GHZ when plugged in, and 1.2GHZ when not plugged in
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.