games lagging - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2004, 07:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Default games lagging

Hey all, just something which has been bothering me a bit over the past few weeks -

Whenever I'm playing a game, it would run smoothly for a few seconds, and then video lags pretty badly for a few more seconds, and then go back to being normal again and so on. Sound and everything else seems fine. This happens on every game I've tried - Age of Kings, Warcraft3, FIFA etc, and even DX-Ball (a clone of the old classic 'breakout'). I'm guessing that this might also happen when I'm running office apps or internet, just that it's only noticible when playing games.

Specs:
Dell Inspiron 5150 notebook
3Ghz Pentium 4
512MB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce FX Go5200 32 MB
Windows XP SP2

I've tried getting the latest drivers, virus and spyware scanned, but to no avail. Could it be a problem with the hardware? Sound familiar to anyone? Any help greatly appreciated, cheers.
__________________

jimar is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 07:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

jimar,

A simple effective solution. Take your Graphics card out of the slot, dust it and put the card back in. Now it should be good to go. (mostly!) I had this problem recently , that my game exits after playing 4 min approx of any game and i cleaned my slot and card, well it worked fine !

And, install the latest direct-x version [ I suppose it is 9.0 C ]
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 08:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

Its kinda hard to take your card out when its on a Dell notebook...

Lag = bad/slow internet/network connection.

Graphical slow-down is called "S***ty FPS (Frames Per Second)"

Cleaning your card only gets the dust out, and therefore maybe reducing an overheating problem, but It would probably totaly mess up if it overheated, than just kick you out of your game.

It may not be your card, too. I had an old machine that would freeze for a half second, every 10 seconds playing QuakeII, and it ended up being the hard drive.

Anyways, Having only a 32mb 5200 is pretty low, yet sadly better than the Intel brand graphics crap they throw in there all the time.
...but that shouldn't effect office apps. I'll think about it today and see what I can think of.
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 10:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the help guys. I'm not too sure about taking out my card, don't wanna screw something else up in the process, but I'll keep that in mind if all else fails

A 32MB GeforceFX 5200 is kinda tame, but i mean, the games I play aren't exactly cutting edge 3D either (what 'hardcore' gamer would want a notebook anyway?).

The thing that bothers me is that everything worked fine when the computer was new, and this lag... i mean, sh*ty FPS only started happening recently.

Thanks again, cheers.
jimar is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 10:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jimar

The thing that bothers me is that everything worked fine when the computer was new, and this lag... i mean, sh*ty FPS only started happening recently.

If that is the case it is not the GPU at all although your GPU is very weak.

Try scanning for spyware and adware using other programs. Maybe the ones you used did not pick it up. Run virus scan. Use Panda's free online scan. Then defrag your PC and see how it runs then.

Open up your task manager is your CPU always high? That could be an indication of a background program working without your knowledge. Like keyloggers.
hu_xu is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

You could run msconfig to see what programs are starting up when windows boots up. You can disable those that are unnecessary to save system resources. It sounds like you might have too many things running at once.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 07:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I think you should replace that card. Thats a very very out dated card.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.