G400 or Intellimouse Explorer 3.0? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2013, 07:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 61
Question G400 or Intellimouse Explorer 3.0?

Title says it all- I just need some advice. Ignoring the dpi (I would be fine with a 350 dpi mouse) which would be a better investment? At the moment it seems to be very hard to find a normal G400 (I can only find the G400S which is way out of my £20 budget). Given that I can get the Intellimouse for cheaper should I just go for that?

Oh, and if it helps I play games such as Counter-Strike and Battlefield online, then games such as Splinter Cell and Half-Life offline.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

Geoman37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: G400 or Intellimouse Explorer 3.0?

The Intellimouse is cheap as crap for a reason. It's not just low DPI, but a weak optical sensor which causes random jumping here and there as well. The G400s (a direct exactly the same replacement of the G400) has a much better sensor and response rate. If you're any kind of serious about gaming, I would divvy up the extra cash for a better mouse. Some people can get away with gaming on cheap mice but most can't.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 01:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 61
Default

I still don't understand how Logitech can charge 2.5 times as much for the G400S than the G400. Since the G400S was released I can't find a G400 anywhere.
__________________
The setup: FX-6300 @ 3.5 GHz cooled by an Arctic Freezer 13 | 7870 2GB | Asus M5A97 R2.0 | Corsair Vengeance 4GB 1600 MHz DDR3 | Cooler Master K350 | Cooler Master 500w PSU | Western Digital Blue 1TB | BenQ DL2215 | Logitech K120 | Logitech G400s | Steelseries QCK+ | 70KB/S BT Broadband =(
Geoman37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 01:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: G400 or Intellimouse Explorer 3.0?

Idk about over there, but over here they are relatively the same price. If you saw it for less than 29p (direct conversion) then you might have saw it on sale when they were trying to deplete stock for the S. The G400 was on sale here for $20 for a few months but before that is was typically about 49. Pretty much a direct replacement to the G5 Rev2/MX518.

Edit: Yea, not too much in price difference on here between the two.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Logitech-G40...=logitech+g400

The G300 seems to be more geared towards your budget.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 02:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 61
Default

Ah, that makes sense... Might go for a MX518 in that case- I only wanted the g400 because I prefer the matt texture and lack of any prediction compared to a small amount.
__________________
The setup: FX-6300 @ 3.5 GHz cooled by an Arctic Freezer 13 | 7870 2GB | Asus M5A97 R2.0 | Corsair Vengeance 4GB 1600 MHz DDR3 | Cooler Master K350 | Cooler Master 500w PSU | Western Digital Blue 1TB | BenQ DL2215 | Logitech K120 | Logitech G400s | Steelseries QCK+ | 70KB/S BT Broadband =(
Geoman37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 02:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: G400 or Intellimouse Explorer 3.0?

Nah unless you can find one really cheap I wouldn't get the older mouse.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 02:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 61
Default

They do tend to be cheaper over here.
__________________
The setup: FX-6300 @ 3.5 GHz cooled by an Arctic Freezer 13 | 7870 2GB | Asus M5A97 R2.0 | Corsair Vengeance 4GB 1600 MHz DDR3 | Cooler Master K350 | Cooler Master 500w PSU | Western Digital Blue 1TB | BenQ DL2215 | Logitech K120 | Logitech G400s | Steelseries QCK+ | 70KB/S BT Broadband =(
Geoman37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 02:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: G400 or Intellimouse Explorer 3.0?

Well I see one new one for 29, and a used G400 for 33.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 05:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 61
Default

I can get a MX500 for £20 yet I can't find a G400.
__________________
The setup: FX-6300 @ 3.5 GHz cooled by an Arctic Freezer 13 | 7870 2GB | Asus M5A97 R2.0 | Corsair Vengeance 4GB 1600 MHz DDR3 | Cooler Master K350 | Cooler Master 500w PSU | Western Digital Blue 1TB | BenQ DL2215 | Logitech K120 | Logitech G400s | Steelseries QCK+ | 70KB/S BT Broadband =(
Geoman37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 09:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: G400 or Intellimouse Explorer 3.0?

Go to Amazon and look up these mice. Choose whatever is in your price range, just as long as it isn't that intellimouse.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
g400, intellimouse, mice, mouse

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.