The FX-60 is here - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2006, 12:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default The FX-60 is here

The FX-60 has been released to the public.

NewEgg has them in stock.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103608

$1,399.00 + $5.00 Three Day Shipping
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 01:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

$1,399

That's a lot of money just for a cpu
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 05:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Indeed that is a lot of money but it is AMD's flagship processor so you have to expect it to be expensive. Im happy to see the FX series of processors to be Dual Core, that is a very nice addition. Im excited to see this cpu compete with the Pentium D, Pentim 4 EE and Yonah (Core Duo)
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 07:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

what i'd do is get another toldedo core & OC up ro speed but the FX60 is indeed a step in the right direction
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 09:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

http://www.nvidia.com/object/IO_28649.html
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 03:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

its FX60 is just a X2 4800+ running 200mhz faster or am i missing something?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 03:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
its FX60 is just a X2 4800+ running 200mhz faster or am i missing something?
i dont think you're missing anything unless were both missing something. it looks like an X2 4800+ running 200mhz faster
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 03:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to chevytrucknut
Default

in benchmarks, the x2 3800+ is just under the Pentium D...the FX-60 will shred all the competition, but it's way to expensive for me and I could just get an Opty 170 or better, then OC it, and save like $800 bucks
__________________
the old system...
OPTERON 165
EVGA GeForce 6600GT
Enermax Whisper II 535W PSU
Big TYPHOON
1.2 TB
1GB Ram
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra
chevytrucknut is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 03:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

the FX is 2.6ghz, the 4800+ is 2.4ghz
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 05:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The unlocked multi???

The thing is, if someone wants it, they will get it, and it will be stuck in some alienware. There are people who want the best, and this offers it. The only people who will use it with any sence are the people over XS who get sponsered to do the overclocks.

£800 over here, not too bad... still not worth it.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.