FX 5500 or 9600SE? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2005, 02:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
mal
True Techie
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default

i dont know the FX,but my 9600 (no SE,AGP)runs about all games i came across,like battlefield 2,Farcry for example,or Guild Wars maxed out with no fps problem at all..Sometimes get a fps drop in huge areas with vegetations or lot of buildings in some games but theres always a way to play with game settings.My friend got the SE and its faster than mine,so i think its a good choice,though more RAM would help to caliber the whole thing
__________________

mal is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 02:11 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Both cards are from the previous generation. Get a 6600GT!
__________________

__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 02:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
mal
True Techie
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default

he says hes not a big gamer and might run at medium settings ...
I run HL2 maxed and Doom3 mid hi and low still look decent...9600 is a good choice if you're not that big of a gamer(and if you want *only* one of these 2 cards of course)
mal is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 02:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
The SE is less powerful. Get the 9600 Pro or XT if you are looking into that line of cards. The SE is a crippled version of the 9600 Pro. Definately don't go with an SE card if you are going higher end.
My bad you're right. Found this on Tom's Hardware Guide. No 5500 to compare it to, but there is a 5600. Check out how crappy the 9600se is in comparison. Go with that 5500 instead.
http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...charts-05.html
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 06:23 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Also, to the guy posting about the 6600GT, hes running it on pci........................
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 07:22 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 265
Default

I had a FX5500 before my 6600GT.





It sucked.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3200+
160GB WD HDD
1GB Corsair 400Mhz DDR RAM
Leadtek 6600GT @ 575/1103
Lite-On DVD/RW
480 Watt Antec NeoPower
17\" LG TFT
haGGard is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 07:18 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

They will be better than my integrated graphics right?
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 08:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 90
Default

Heck yea...
__________________
Nothing yet...
Something is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 08:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Something
Heck yea...
I was gonna say that exact phrase!
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3200+
160GB WD HDD
1GB Corsair 400Mhz DDR RAM
Leadtek 6600GT @ 575/1103
Lite-On DVD/RW
480 Watt Antec NeoPower
17\" LG TFT
haGGard is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 08:30 PM   #20 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jorsoft03
My bad you're right. Found this on Tom's Hardware Guide. No 5500 to compare it to, but there is a 5600. Check out how crappy the 9600se is in comparison. Go with that 5500 instead.
http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...charts-05.html
I know of a PCI 5600, you can get it right here:
http://www.amamax.com/ge56pciwddrd1.html
I used to have one of those, before I got my new rig I can't complain for what it was, but the fan was a little noisey.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.