FX-53 and registered ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2004, 11:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 118
Default FX-53 and registered ram

I'm interested in building a new computer, and in my search for all the right parts I noticed that if you get a socket 940 FX-53, that you have to have registered RAM. But then I noticed they just came out with socket 939 mobos and processors and that there is nothing that says they need registered RAM. So am I better off going with the socket 939 FX-53 and using regular RAM as opposed to having very few RAM options with the 940 since it needs registered RAM? Thanks.

blackwrx is offline  
Old 06-14-2004, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527

New socket 939 would be better. The older motherboard doesnt need specific ram. Just not Sh$i$#(*ty ram. Like if you use high end kingston or the high end corsair it will work fine.

P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-15-2004, 01:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang

wait for the 939 or get a 3200/3400 amd 64 which do not require registered ram (but can only run in single channel mode)

just wait for the 939 it is going to be the stable socket for quite a while

unlike 940&754 which are already dead when they just came out

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 06-15-2004, 10:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 118

Can 939 run dual channel?
My new toy!
AMD XP 3200+ Barton
1 GB Corsair Pro Series XMS Extreme Memory DDR400 (dual channel)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro 256 Mb
DFI Lanparty NFII Ultra B
WD 74 GB 10,000 RPM Raptor
Aspire X-Alien Case with 420 watt PS
Lite On Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
Sony Floppy Drive
Logitech Cordless MX Duo
XP Pro
blackwrx is offline  
Old 06-15-2004, 01:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter

YourPrinter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.