FX-53 questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2004, 07:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 44
Default FX-53 questions

What's the clock speed on this? Do they only have one version? Which is the best one to get?
__________________

seh264 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 07:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

DONT BUY THIS:

FX-53 is now considered Obsolete, just like 754-pin Athlon 64 are.

better buy Athlon 64 939-pin version with l2 =1MB, u may find it cheaper than FX-53 but faster in performance.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 07:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

huh? are all FX-53 s754?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 44
Default

no they are 939
seh264 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 07:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 44
Default

Im told this is the best way to go..... buy the Athlon64 3000+ 939 socket, and over clock it to 3500. the 3200 and 3400 dont overclock anywhere near as well as the 3000.
seh264 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 07:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

no they are 939 pins, but now athlon 64 is taking place of FX's, except FX-55, if i've to write down the AMD's with reference to their design and power, then this should be like that:

1: Athlon FX-55
2: Athlon 64 4000+ and FX-53 = exactlly SAME, just box color is different.
3: Athlon 64 3800+


and sorry, i made a little mistake, its FX-51 that has vanished from list, not the FX-53 (but it will as well SOON)
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 08:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 44
Default

why the hell are these FX chips thown in there...just confuses everything
seh264 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 08:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
and sorry, i made a little mistake, its FX-51 that has vanished from list, not the FX-53 (but it will as well SOON)
True, but the 51 never was socket 939, so the fx53 will still preform on all 939 boards, and isn't a bad idea considering it is attemping to be phased out by the 55.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 08:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

yes FX-51 was based on opetron @ 940 pins. but it phased out as when they combined both wafers into one chip architecture @ 939 pins. before there were 2 different boards for Athlons 64 and FX' but now you can use any on current boards.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 08:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

the 4000+ is the same as the FX-53 but it's multiplier is locked... so the fx-53 has more oc'ing options than the 4000+
__________________

__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.