fx 5200 or fx 5700? need fast reply! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2004, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default fx 5200 or fx 5700? need fast reply!

ok which one, both are PCI

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...150-061&depa=1

OR

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...140-041&depa=0

thankx
__________________

__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 08:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what will you be doing with them?

I would suggest if it's PCI, to go with the 5200
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 08:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

ok thx! (gaming/cs source)

i know, but it wil run on low settings
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 08:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

any others?

PS is direct x 8.1 a big diff than 9? (i am thinking maybe a radeon 9200/9250 256mb instead of these nvidia, what do u think)
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 08:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
what will you be doing with them?

I would suggest if it's PCI, to go with the 5200
Why go with the 5200? Isn't the 5700 going to be way better?

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 08:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

now i'm thnking of either the radeon 9200 or 9250

check em out

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-237&depa=1

OR

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-411&depa=1

weird, cuz the 9200 is 10 mhz "faster", when the other should be a lil better,

which one, the 9200 or 9250 should i get
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Go with the 5700, it will out perform all of those you posted.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
Default

That is weird that the 9250 is slower than the 9200
__________________
My system-

250Watt Power Supply
AMD Athlon 950Mhz
704MB SDRAM PC133
128MB Radeon 9550
20GB HD
16x CD-RW
Sound Blaster Audio PCI 128D
LAN internet (road runner)
10/100 Ethernet PCI card
Vonage Broadband telephone
Windows XP Home
Chrisman88990 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 10:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

I believe that the 9250 has a completely different core than the 9200 so comparing the clock speed is completely useless.

Also the difference between DX8.1 and DX9 are certain shader effects. You can goggle DX9 screenshots of HL2 and DX8.1 screenshots of HL2 and see what I'm talking about. The difference in the water is a clear example.

If you wanna see games like Far Cry, Doom 3, and HL2 in all their glory you need a DX9 compliant card. But I'll tell you something thoe Nvidia cards you listed will run DX9 very poorly ESPECIALLY the 5200.

In truth all those cards listed are pretty bad in terms of gaming. For everything else they are fine. But for gaming you are looking at low end cards.

The 5700 is the best you listed followed by 9250, 9200, and the 5200.
__________________

hu_xu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.