Futureproof system ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2004, 12:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 65
Default Futureproof system ?

OK I know this is not the bets system ou there, but what do you think.
AMD athlon 64 3200
ATI X800XT 256 mb
1 Gb ram ( PC3200 )

I have just ordered it today - have to wait 2 weeks
How will this run Far Cry, and how do you think it will handel doom3 and half life2
__________________

jjjdup is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 01:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

GOoD< what motherboard you got with that?
__________________

__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 01:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

I think FarCry will scream on that machine. It rocks on mine and my stuff is slower then what you have. Yeah, which motherboard do you have???
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 01:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 65
Default

K8V-D motherboard it says on the specs. I take it must be the Asus K8V Delux. Is that good?
jjjdup is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 02:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Yeah that will do it well.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 02:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

very good comp
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.