funny xp joke - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2006, 01:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I am CURRENTLY USING a Pentium III 800mhz with 512mb of PC133 SDRAM. It's running smooth as silk. There's nothing wrong with it at all. This includes Service Pack 2. All you have to do is keep your computer free of spyware and viruses.

Trust me, it works just fine. I click on something, and a moment later, the computer does what I told it.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 02:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

My 700Mhz PIII ran XP no problem at all. My brother is still using the PC and it runs great.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 01:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

its basically all about setting it up using a little bit of brains and then keeping it in pristine condition
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 05:03 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

yeah i have XP running on my old 867mhz pIII and on an overclocked pI. although i have heard from some friends that on a school owned 1ghz celeron with 128mb ram crashed at the login screen and they couldnt get it too boot, it was that slow!
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 09:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

celeron 1 Ghz?

maybe the RAM was faulty, because celeron 1Ghz is pretty fast, i had used a 533 Mhz celeron at school for years, and it was okay
talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 10:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

I'm at work right now, the company runs XP Pro, 1/2 of which are on PIII machines.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 02:19 AM   #17 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

im not sure what was wrong with it, it could have been a million things, all they said was that it would never boot, im thinking its a bad MBR.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 04:16 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Xp runs super fast on my 533 mhz pentium 3 made for windows 98.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 06:43 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
Default Re: funny xp joke

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
most people agree that XP is a big memory hog, and some pentium 4/celeron's cant even handle it...
I think the joke is how everyone here disagrees with you.
__________________
Biostar T-force 4U,Opteron 148@2.6Ghz.CorsairXMS DDR500-2gigs,EVGA7800GT CO.Seagate160gigSATA II,Koolance ICM 510 watercooling,Coolermaster Stacker830
cobalt817 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 07:01 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Where is the joke?
__________________

hendon40 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.