FSB vs Mb RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2003, 07:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Zero Shift
Default FSB vs Mb RAM

Hey again everyone.
New week, new problem...

This time, i have a relatively small one.
Now that my computer is fixed and set up, I'm building a computer from the old parts for someone (not sure who i'll give it to, but that hardly matters)

The old parts include two RAM sticks. One PC2100, and one PC3200. Both 256Mb.
The question is: would the computer be better off with 512Mb of RAM running partially underclocked at 266Mhz, or just one 256Mb stick at 400Mhz?
I have my ideas, but i'm kind of curious as to whether i'm right or not.
Thanks in advance for your responses.
__________________

__________________
NZXT Guardian Case with Thermaltake PurePower 420w
FIC AU13 motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 333FSB (Barton) with Thermaltake Silent Boost HSF
WDC 80Gb 8Mb cache 7200rpm
512Mb Kingston Dual-channel PC3200
MCP-T SoundStorm audio (integrated)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro (it owned, until x800 and 6800)
Logitech Z-680 5.1 speaker system (integrated Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, Pro Logic II decoding)
Logitech Cordless Elite Duo keyboard & mouse
Saitek Cyborg Evo joystick
Windows XP Pro SP1 (dont. install. SP2.)
Zero Shift is offline  
Old 11-20-2003, 08:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 127
Default

This depends on what you are going to do with it, and if the mobo has integrated graphics. Integrated graphic cards often 'steal' RAM from your regular RAM. Faster (but less) RAM in this case would increase your graphics performance, but on the other hand you are left with even less RAM for other applications.
__________________

fiezk is offline  
Old 11-20-2003, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Zero Shift
Default

Gaming, and it will have a cheap 32Mb SiS AGP card.
__________________
NZXT Guardian Case with Thermaltake PurePower 420w
FIC AU13 motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 333FSB (Barton) with Thermaltake Silent Boost HSF
WDC 80Gb 8Mb cache 7200rpm
512Mb Kingston Dual-channel PC3200
MCP-T SoundStorm audio (integrated)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro (it owned, until x800 and 6800)
Logitech Z-680 5.1 speaker system (integrated Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, Pro Logic II decoding)
Logitech Cordless Elite Duo keyboard & mouse
Saitek Cyborg Evo joystick
Windows XP Pro SP1 (dont. install. SP2.)
Zero Shift is offline  
Old 11-20-2003, 08:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

Well, if your FSB supports 400MHz DDR at full speed, then what the hell are you doing with a PC2100 chip in there!? If not, then your better off just leaving it as is.

FSB to RAM
(bold: what it looks like you are currently running)
266MHz (133MHzx2): PC2100 RAM
333MHz (167MHzx2): PC2700 RAM
400MHz (200MHz x2): PC3200 RAM
533MHz (267MHz x2): PC4200 RAM
g5orbust is offline  
Old 11-22-2003, 11:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Zero Shift
Default

heh. The reason i have such a slow RAM stick there, is because the whole computer is mostly cobbled together from spare parts.
Leftovers from when i switched to the computer in my sig.
i'm just wondering if the extra 256Mb is worth slowing down the whole system to 266FSB
Oh yeah, the CPU is a 333FSB, so the question is really 256Mb 333Mhz vs 512Mb 266Mhz
__________________
NZXT Guardian Case with Thermaltake PurePower 420w
FIC AU13 motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 333FSB (Barton) with Thermaltake Silent Boost HSF
WDC 80Gb 8Mb cache 7200rpm
512Mb Kingston Dual-channel PC3200
MCP-T SoundStorm audio (integrated)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro (it owned, until x800 and 6800)
Logitech Z-680 5.1 speaker system (integrated Dolby Digital 5.1, DTS, Pro Logic II decoding)
Logitech Cordless Elite Duo keyboard & mouse
Saitek Cyborg Evo joystick
Windows XP Pro SP1 (dont. install. SP2.)
Zero Shift is offline  
Old 11-22-2003, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Zero Shift
heh. The reason i have such a slow RAM stick there, is because the whole computer is mostly cobbled together from spare parts.
Leftovers from when i switched to the computer in my sig.
i'm just wondering if the extra 256Mb is worth slowing down the whole system to 266FSB
Oh yeah, the CPU is a 333FSB, so the question is really 256Mb 333Mhz vs 512Mb 266Mhz
Having mismatched stick speed like that will seriously kill performance. I suggest, for now, taking that slower stick out.

Also, looks like you need a video card (or lack there of) upgrade.
__________________

g5orbust is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.