FSB and Memory Frequency in Bios - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2004, 06:00 PM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

some one on this fourm would always remind us of how picky N-force bourds are conserning cheap ram. dont ask me were the line is between cheap and decent ream though.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 07:23 PM   #32 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Starcat
I mean, the Asus site stated that a particular type of Kingston memory (pc3200, 256) was tested with this board, and I got Kingston memory, but of a different kind (pc3200, 2x512). Are mobo's really that picky? Should I choose to change this later and buy the specified Kingston mem, can I get up to 1gb using 256mb chips? Seems to me with 3 slots I could only get up to 768mb.
yes sometimes thay are that picky. the 256 and 512 are the same series but the consistancy is sometimes different. So if they recommend the 256 model only that's the only one that can garuantee will work with that particular board. You are correct you can't get 1GB using three 256 modules. I had good sucess with Corsair XMS memory, it might not be listed in their support memory but it works nevertheless. it's mostly experimenting on the builder's part
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 08:19 PM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
it's mostly experimenting on the builder's part
Yeah basically theres the heart of most techies knowledge. I know it is for me atleast. The main reason I know as much as I do is because I've messed up so many times and had to have researched 100 different options for fixing one thing that now I'm just loaded with stuff. I just wrote a BIOS Article because I recently screwed up my BIOS chip and read NUMEROUS articles regarding recovery. Unfortunately for me every single thing I tried didn't work for me but hopefully someone can get use out of the info
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 09:53 PM   #34 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 21
Default

Well, I've learned a lot from messing around (and up), that's the truth. Can get pretty 'spensive, though. That's why I didn't go with the Corsair XMS - serves me right, I guess.

Y'all certainly are very knowledgeable, and I greatly appreciate your help. Sorry to have taken so much of your time, but maybe I can help someone else with what I've learned. Thanks again.
__________________

Starcat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.