FSB and Cache!!! AMD and Intel - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2004, 09:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Question FSB and Cache!!! AMD and Intel

Would a AMD athlon xp 3000+ (2.1GHz) 512K L2 Cache 400MHz Frontside bus outperform a Intel Celeron D (2.93GHz) 256kb L2 Cache 533 FrontSide bus? if everything else is equivalent (harddrive rpm, ram, video card, etc.)

how does frontside bus and cache affect a computer's performance? i'm a noob with all the details the fbs and cache and everything else...

From the specs of the 2 comps above? is the Athlon or Celeron better for like doom3 and such data needy applications...???

OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 09:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
ohGrFreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak

Athlon over celeron, that's all you need to know. At least, that's all I can tell you without confusing myself too much.

ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 09:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious

Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 01:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

Overclocking basics:

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 01:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582

the celerons are total crap, and can only be compared to semprons in the athlon line... go athlon XP in that price range.

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 02:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 136

isn't an 3000+ xp equilient to around a 2.8ghz or 3.0ghz pentium 4?? now put a celeron in and the athlon is like God
quartz01 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 04:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

come on guys, Celeron's are not that bad
a 2.8GHZ Celeron is all you need for Doom 3 or HL2
an Athlon XP 3000+ will perform better than a Celeron 2.93GHZ, but that does not justify calling the Celeron a "crap" CPU

it's just not right when people see a processor with 5% better performance than another, and call the slightly lower processor "crap"

Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.