Fsb - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2006, 12:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default Fsb

hey guys, I performed a search and could not find this topic so here it is.

On my motherboard (a8n-e) it says it has a 1000 MHz FSB with 2000 MT/s, now I took this to mean my FSB with HT was 2000 and it was 1000 normally, but I have gotten some strange readings off of EVEREST. Here is the screenie:



Now, could someone explain to me exactly what this screen means? does the FSB not run as fast as it is rated on most motherboards?

Thanks guys.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131530

This is my Mobo btw.
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 03:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

Clock speed is clock speed...what you're referring to is effective FSB. AMD double-pumps (on socket A systems), Intel quad pumps...so if the actual setting is 200MHz, on an AMD socket A system it would effectively be 400MHz FSB, on an Intel system, it would effectively be 800MHz FSB.

Athlon 64 systems don't have a FSB as we know it. If you look at the A64 charts at AMD.com, there is no FSB listed, just "operating frequency. The A64 uses HyperTransport technology

HyperTransport technology is a high performance, easy-to-implement system interconnect technology originally invented by AMD. It is designed to increase overall system performance by removing I/O bottlenecks, increasing bandwidth and reducing latency. HyperTransport technology implemented in the AMD Athlon 64 FX processor enables a system bus to run at 1600MHz
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 06:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Okay then, so basically there is no FSB with my processor, it just runs at the speed listed, 2000 Mhz with a rough estimated FSB of 1600 MHz?
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 02:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

there is a FSB for every processor the processor connects to the northbridge which in turn connects to the ram therefore if you double pump you can obtain higer clock speeds. google it and read up on frontside buses its hard to explain
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.