front panel LED help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2005, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
Default front panel LED help

i have some problem with cooler master centurion and IntelĀ® Desktop Board D865GLC
this is my config

pin 1-3 hdd led
pin 2-4 power led
pin 5-7 reset sw
pin 6-8 power sw

after i shutdown my pc about 5 secs
it automatic turns on
i dun know what i have done incrorrectly
__________________

anthegreat is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 07:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Just quickly shut your PSU when you shut down your PC,
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 07:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
Default

yeah, i know
but i want my pc function correctly
anthegreat is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

check Intels website for manuals.

They normally have the manuals in PDF format on your driver CD.

The ther thing that could be causing it is a power short on your power switch too. (Those things are fun to replace )
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 08:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

TIP of THE DAY. The "COLOR" wire is always the (+) and the "WHITE" is always the (-). When it comes to HDD LED'S / POWER SWITCH / POWER LED BUTTON - Wires.

USB wires are usually (RED-GREEN-WHITE-BLACK)

good luck... Happy wiring...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 08:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

You have your Reset switch or Power switch in backwards. There is a little arrow on the connector, it is pin one. It is black, the same color as the connector, and is elevated a little bit.
Him is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 08:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
You have your Reset switch or Power switch in backwards. There is a little arrow on the connector, it is pin one. It is black, the same color as the connector, and is elevated a little bit.
I've never had a problem with wiring the Reset or Power Switch the wrong way. The LEDs are the problems I find.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 08:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Thats common knowledge, that when you have one of those two connectors in backwards (or both) your computer will shut down and then start right back up.
Him is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 08:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Harper
check Intels website for manuals.

They normally have the manuals in PDF format on your driver CD.

The ther thing that could be causing it is a power short on your power switch too. (Those things are fun to replace )
wat is power short?
anthegreat is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 08:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

You know, when something is being shorted out. But I dont think that would be it, because then you wouldnt be able to turn the computer on using that switch.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.