Front of case - USB 1 or 2? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2004, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default Front of case - USB 1 or 2?

I have an Antec PerformancePlus case with 2 USB2 ports in the front. They are supposed to be USB2, and the MOBO supports that, but I've read some posts of people saying they're only 1.1, and they needed to have a new adapter sent out from Antec. Fine and good, but I'm not sure which mine are b/c they may have updated the case or something. Is there a way to check that? They WORK, but I don't have any USB2 devices right now, so I really can't tell just by transfer speed. Any help would be appreciated

regeisle is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 12:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348

well if your not having a problem i would just leave it. If you have an official manual or something from them saying that they are USB2 ports, then they probably are. If you have them plugged into USB 1.1 on your mobo it wont matter, but if you have them plugged into USB2 on your mobo, then your USB2 devices will go faster.
Wait till you get something USB2 and see what happens.

sithspawn is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 07:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909

why do u have to worry about weather its a USB 1.1 or 2.0?

are you transferring data in huge amount?

start using firewire then.
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 08:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
kboy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041

Trace them back to where they plug into the Mobo & refer to your Manual.
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX

1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 07-28-2004, 10:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182

Thanks for the help. If the Mobo is USB2, will the plugs in the front automatically be USB2? I'd rather not wait until I need USB2, because the case is new, and I'd rather get them to send the updated adapter sooner rather than later, if needed. If i call them in 2 years, they'd probably tell me to take a hike. I was just wondering if there is a way in system props, device mgr, etc to see if it's usb2.
regeisle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.