Friggen optical mice! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2005, 02:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I have a cheap opticle mouse that came with a pc (NEC), and when I use mouse mat (blue and white school one lol,) it jerkes all over the place, but with out it it is fine (on a wooden table, different shades of brown from the grain.)
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 02:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah my touchpad's on my laptop's do these
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Counter-Strike
Mine does that, I have a Microsoft Intelli Optical Mouse, and in CS, sometimes is spazzes, and people think I speed hack
Only if you hit anyone while doing it would there be a problem.

HiM, try getting a mosue with a holographic optical sensor (logitech sells some). They don't just aim a laser down at the surface, they actually shine several beams down in a pattern. It's much harder for the surface to trick the mouse, and they track much easier.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

I wonder if the new Logitech MX-1000 solves this problem.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
Only if you hit anyone while doing it would there be a problem.

HiM, try getting a mosue with a holographic optical sensor (logitech sells some). They don't just aim a laser down at the surface, they actually shine several beams down in a pattern. It's much harder for the surface to trick the mouse, and they track much easier.
Is that the one with the three lasers? I may or may not have that one at home. I forget what the name of it is, but it's a nice black Logitech USB mouse. Has Forward and Back buttons on either side, and a little round button on the top of it that I cant seem to figure out what it does. My mouse here does it, but at home i dont have that problem.
Him is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FoxyLoxy
I wonder if the new Logitech MX-1000 solves this problem.
I have one. Love it.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:53 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrucialLabs
I have a logitech optical mouse and I havn't had that problem but I do know what you mean.
I've had problems with logitec mice, and I don't know why. I have one on my Mandrake machine and it seems to be OK. But under Windows XP and 2000, when it was plugged into the USB port, at boot it wouldn't see the mouse. I had to unplug it and plug it back in. I tried using a PS2 adapter but that didn't work. I can use the PS2 adapter with the Microsoft mice and use regular USB without a problem.
Snump is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:13 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

I think Dell's mousepad is slightly reflective, which could screw it up (I hae a glass desk and optical mice go crazy on it. As mentioned, try a new mousepad, or none altogether. Or get a not-suck mouse
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:15 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Snump
I've had problems with logitec mice, and I don't know why. I have one on my Mandrake machine and it seems to be OK. But under Windows XP and 2000, when it was plugged into the USB port, at boot it wouldn't see the mouse. I had to unplug it and plug it back in. I tried using a PS2 adapter but that didn't work. I can use the PS2 adapter with the Microsoft mice and use regular USB without a problem.
Make sure you have your BIOS setup to enable USB on boot, otherwise you have to wait for Windows to get around to it later (or jumpstart it by reconnecting it).
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:17 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

maybe it's telling you you don't need to be surfing at work
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.