Friggen optical mice! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2005, 01:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default Friggen optical mice!

At work I use a Dell, with a dell optical mouse. Sometimes when I'm using it, the mouse will randomly jump to the corner of the screen, and I will lose it for a second or so. It's not a problem, just a wicked nuisance. It's does it sometimes, sometimes not. It just happened like twice in the past minute, so thats why I asked. Think it's just a cheap mouse? Maybe has something to do with the mouse pad and darker and lighter areas of it?
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 01:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Bingo.

Surface trouble.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 01:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Dam, mouse pads are so few and far between. And the ones that I can get, either are the same, or have more multi colored areas! BAH!

EDIT: IT DID IT AGAIN AS i WENT TO PRESS 'SUBMIT'!!! OHHH THE CRUEL IRONY!!!
Him is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 01:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Mine does that, I have a Microsoft Intelli Optical Mouse, and in CS, sometimes is spazzes, and people think I speed hack
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 01:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default

I have seen the same thing on my Linux machine but only with Logitech USB mice.
Come to think of it, it may have happened on my WIndows machine with the Logitech mouse. I don't believe it is a colored surface problem.
I have a cow pattern Gateway mousepad and it doesn't spazz over the white and black sections.
Snump is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 01:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

I think it does matter, but only with the cheaper mice. I have an optical at home, but, actually, my mouse bad is all black.

like I said, it is a dell mouse. Any mouse that is suppled with a mchine is crap IMHO. All the mice that I have ever got with a factory machine (I stopped getting factory machines years ago) have died pretty quick.
Him is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 02:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Just don't use a mouse pad.

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 02:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

Because an optical mouse takes thousands of pictures a second to know how much to move the arrow on screen, it has a difficult time diferentiating the changes for solid color surfaces, like a uniform color desk or table.
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 02:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Man, who knew optical mice did so mcuh stuff! I bet the processing power in a mouse is greater than the first Pentiums. lol.

http://computer.howstuffworks.com/question631.htm
Him is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 02:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

I have a logitech optical mouse and I havn't had that problem but I do know what you mean.
__________________

__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.