Fried Motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2005, 04:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to coreyjames66
Question Fried Motherboard

I recieved a computer from a client who had tried to put memory in a PCI slot. What I'm wondering is, if I replace the MOBO do I dare re-use the processor and memory (that was not put in PCI)?
If anyone has any comments, I would appreciate it. The new MOBO is $150 and I'd really hate to fry it as soon as I get it.
Thanx
Corey
__________________

__________________
We decide which is right and which is an illusion
coreyjames66 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 04:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

do you have any way to test those components?

I say go for it, use the warrenty if anything goes wrong, lol
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 04:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to coreyjames66
Default

No, I don't have an old motherboard to try them out in.
Thanks for the reply.
__________________
We decide which is right and which is an illusion
coreyjames66 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 05:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to coreyjames66
Default

I wonder also, if I upgrade the CPU, will the restore disks work? It's a e-machines and comes with its own set of disks.
__________________
We decide which is right and which is an illusion
coreyjames66 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 11:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

PCI slots have a 3.3v to 5v signal.
Standard memory modules operate under 2.0v. Higher quality ram can withstand well over 2.0v. Chances are if they tried to boot this PC with memory modules in the PCI slots, then they damaged the memory with too much voltage.

If you upgrade the CPU with-in the motherboards specifications and compatibilities the restore disks will still work. Those restore disks are to return the PC to the original state that you bought it in. The operating system, drivers and other applications that were bundled with the PC.

I believe most emachines use ASUS motherboards. This that what you have?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 01:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to coreyjames66
Default

No, it has an Intel Seabreeze mobo w/ Celeron D CPU.
Do you think the CPU would be fried? The PSU? I've never dealt with anything like this before.
Thanks for the reply!
Corey
__________________
We decide which is right and which is an illusion
coreyjames66 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 05:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

ok.

You said you have to replace the MOBO? Why do you think it must be replaced? Are you having problems booting the machine? What problem are you having to make you think you need a new mobo?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 07:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to coreyjames66
Default

Well, I guess I assumed it's the MOBO. It will power on but nothing ever shows on the monitor.
According to the guy I got it from,(well actually, his wife), it has been this way since he tried to start it with the memory in the pci slot. The MOBO spec's say this.......

"Three PCI bus add-in card connectors (SMBus routed to PCI bus connector 2)"

I believe he put the memory in slot 2. (I had to talk to his wife and she knows less than him).
By the time I got to it, he had the memory in the right slot alongside another mem. stick. They wanted the memory stick and video card back so they could return it, leaving me with a stock system. (e-machines T2862) The MOBO is a D845GVSR Seabreeze.
If you think it is other than the MOBO, I'm all ears.
I've verified that the monitor and the hdd work. I'm guessing the psu is o.k. as lights come on, but that's just a guess.
Thanks for your help. I've never dealt with this before.
Corey
__________________
We decide which is right and which is an illusion
coreyjames66 is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 04:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Default

memory in a pci slot!?

the mind boggles!!
__________________
A drunk mans words are a sober mans thoughts.
The_likely_lad is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 05:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I'm going to go out on a limb here and say it's a memory issue. Like I posted before, trying to boot a PC with memory in a PCI slot could do serious damage to the memory. WAY too much voltage....

If they have more then one Module then try installing 1 module at a time and see if any of the modules will work to boot.

Isn't there are mobo speaker on this motherboard? normally if there is an issue you'll get BIO's beep codes during P.O.S.T
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.