fried hardware plee for help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2004, 12:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to piktfencecartel
Question fried hardware plee for help

i have a tascam us 122 and a midiman oxy8 keyboard. i was reorganizing some things and with complete stupidity i plug a 12 volt dc outlet into my 4.5 volt usb hub. both of these are plugged into that hub and now do not work. does anyone know a way to fix this? i don't want to have to buy new equiptment, cuz i'm just a poor college student, so fixing is always better. if anyone has any ideas i'd appreciate it. Thanks.
__________________

piktfencecartel is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 01:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

does the stuff that was pluged into the hub work if u plug them strait to the pc? or is it just the hub thats not working?

this may not solve your prob, but this happend to me once... i mixed up the 9v router cable, and pluged it into the 12v modem. the only thing that i needed to replace was the router power adapter.. but u may have the oposte problem. your power adapter is prolly ok, the hub maybe fried.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 01:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to piktfencecartel
Default

i've tried pluggin it all in to my pc, no go. i even got another hub and nothing. thank god my laptop isn't fried those usb connects work fine. there is no damage to the eye on either. my tascam (which i am most worried about) is still under warrenty i think i might just take it to the retailer and say it suddenly stopped working and not give them the whole story.....or pay to get it fixed but if i can fix it myself then i shall.
piktfencecartel is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 04:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

pull the mobo out flip it over and look for a burnt trace .If you can find the prob there just resauder it .
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.