fried computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2005, 02:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default fried computer

a friend of mine gave me a computer that was damaged by a lightining storm. he said i was free to do whatever i wanted to with it. of course it wont turn on, but i was wondering if i could still salvage it. since it wont turn on (at all, no lights, nothing), im not sure where the problem lies. does anyone know if there is a common problem associated with lightining damage? ive had a couple experiences but all that occured was a burn out modem. i not sure i know where to start with checking to see what is still good. any suggestions on how to go about figuring out if this thing can be brought back to life? its a decent computer and id hate to see it thrown away if something minor could be replaced to get it running again. thanks.
__________________

metalkills is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 02:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

well, a power supply failure comes to mind, but if it was damaged in a electrical storm, any number of components could be fried, not only the power supply.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 02:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

For starter's check the power supply then just move on piece by piece,Do you have another computer that has just about the same stuff? if so maybe you can test out the various piece's in it.
Shumway is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 02:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I had a computer get struck by lightning one time. I managed to salvage the hard drive, optical drives, and RAM. The mobo is friend though.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 06:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

usually blowed capacitors on the motherboard or PS
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 06:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

Those are easy to replace though - sort off, and it will work afterwards.

For now though I suggest first sniffing the componants you'll know if they've gone and then taking everything out except the bare essentials and swapping out the PSU.
__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 11:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default

is there a way i can test the power supply without buying something to test it? at the moment i do not have another computer that i could test the parts in. ive seen online things you can buy to test a PS but i dont know if spending the money would be worth it, especially if it turns out thats not the problem.
metalkills is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 11:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Just use a multi meter and use a 4pin molex to test 5v and 12v lines, Yellow + Black 12v, Red + Black 5v, also test the 3.3v line on the 20pin Motherboard connector, im not sure that pins they are check on the net or your motherboard book.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 11:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default

could you maybe break that down into a couple steps, im not familiar with using a mutimeter, although i know what they are. and im not sure how to use the molex either. from what i know about using a multimeter, i would assume that i remove the power supply, and touch certain points on the PS with the probes on the mutimeter. if anyone could shed some more light on this it would be appreciated. thanks.
metalkills is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 04:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

multimeters are great for testing psu's
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.