Freezing problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2004, 11:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default Freezing problem

My computer seems to freeze every 5 seconds. It seems to only happen after being in standby for a while. I run WinXP. It is a preassembled computer by HP. The only way I have been able to fix this is by shutting down, reseating the power connector (don't ask me why).

Tried installing Video drivers and mouse/keyboard drivers....no help.

Any suggestions to keep this from happening, other than not letting it go into standby mode? (It is set up to wait for 25 min now, but don't like the monitor to stay on for so long without use).
__________________

Milc is offline  
Old 01-09-2004, 12:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

standby mode suspends your entire computer as well as monitor. you can suspend your monitor separately from standby mode. a way to fix your problem is set monitor to turn off without using system standby mode.

if you want to shut down computer just shutdown the computer entirely. go to your power scheme options and set

standby: never

turn off monitor: set as long as you wish, 20 minutes is a good number.

you may want to set your screensaver to: none, but it really should not matter since your monitor will go into standby mode. you can physically turn off your monitor without turning off your computer so don't be afraid to press power button on monitor to turn it off completely. you will not damage anything.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 02:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Okay...
I turned off all standby modes, left screensaver on and left computer on overnight. Problem still occured. I guess it is not standby mode that is doing it...must just be sitting there not doing anything that does it.

Also, I found out that simply just shutting it down and unplugging it from the power strip can fix the problem...I don't have to disconnect plug from case.

Any other ideas?
Milc is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 03:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

might be an overheating problem perhaps
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 04:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
might be an overheating problem perhaps
Hmmm. That may be. Have you checked the Heat Sink and Fan (seated properly and fan working)? Did you replace or remove that recently?
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 11:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

The computer is brand new. Sounds like the fan is working. Do not think it is overheating, but not sure on how to check it either. We have the computer in a desk, but there is no backing to the desk and we leave the front door to it open when the computer is on.
Milc is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 02:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 296
Default

i have an hp pavillion and when i put my monitor in standby, it freezes too......but all I have to do is turn the comp off then turn it back on (It might be an hp thing)
__________________
[Sig Snipped Due To Excessive Size]
play2lose is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 07:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default

I've seen screen savers cause this problem, particularly third party ones.
GuyM is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 08:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 32
Default

You can check your cpu's temperature by going into BIOs and looking at pc health status, but if it was getting dangerously overheated you would hear an alarm (if you have it set to sound when the cpu reaches a certain temperature).

If the machine is new there shouldn't be a problem with the RAM but check for compatibility with other components. Look at power supplies mainly because if one component hasn't got enough it will cause a machine to hang.

Good luck
kiri is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 02:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 434
Default

My brother had a hp p3 700 - worst machine ive ever seen. It would work for about 30 min and then just reboot by itself. The good news is thought i found out how to fix the problem..unplug it...take the case off...get the motherboard out.....break it over your knee : ) Seriously though the only way i found out how to fix it is to buy a new motherboard.
__________________

__________________
CCNA, CCNP, A+, N+.
________________
I agrue with people.|
--------------------------
digital_darknes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.