Freezing Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2004, 04:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25
Send a message via ICQ to klidifia Send a message via AIM to klidifia
Default Freezing Problem

Hi! A friends computer completely freezes (not responding at all) at random times in Windows. I was thinking the IDE cable was coming loose or something but it always detects the HDD on startup. I formatted it and still the same thing.

P4 2.4
512 DDR
60GB
Geforce4 MX440

Anyone have any possible ideas about what is causing this?
__________________

klidifia is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 04:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Windows XP?

Scan for virusses and spyware. Install latest graphics card drivers. Test your memory with memtest86+ http://www.memtest.org/
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 04:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 112
Default

It does sound like a spy/adware candidate, try disabling all startup items from msconfig and running ad-aware...
__________________
Jeff Cline
MYTHLOGIC Corporation
Custom. Gaming. Computers.
<a href=\"http://www.mythlogic.com\">http://www.mythlogic.com</a>
jcline is offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 131
Default

Are there any indicators in the event log of problems??? What OS??
Marvel is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 05:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25
Send a message via ICQ to klidifia Send a message via AIM to klidifia
Default

Windows XP Home edition

Obviously it is not spyware or viruses as I have mentioned I formatted and reinstalled windows clean.

I looked at the event logs and I got this log around the time I think it crashed:

The server {F3A614DC-ABE0-11D2-A441-00C04F795683} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
klidifia is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 05:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 25
Send a message via ICQ to klidifia Send a message via AIM to klidifia
Default

Also I have seen a few disk errors in the event log, like this:

The driver detected a controller error on \Device\Harddisk1\D.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

When I look it up it says to replace the IDE cable.
klidifia is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 09:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 32
Send a message via AIM to Carlo Send a message via Yahoo to Carlo
Default

It could very well be a faulty motherboard not sending info to the hardrive try a different mobo and install xp And you'll see what i mean
__________________

Carlo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.