Freezing in games - Im going mad!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2004, 08:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33
Question Freezing in games - Im going mad!!

Please help,
i have this re-occuring problem with my PC.I can use my PC for hours on IE and desktop with no problems but every time i play a game after about 10 mins of play my pc freezes and the only way out is a hard reset of computer.

I have searched the forums for weeks now to no avail.

At first i thought it may be a RAM problem and as i was due a upgrade to some quality stuff i bought some (2x 512MB TwinX XMS Corsair) unfortunately this did not do the trick.

Next i thought it could be a heating problem so i bought an extra fan for case and bought an Aero 7+ for CPU and a Arctic VGA Silencer cooler Rev 3 for Radeon 9700 Pro card i have. Got CPU temp down to 32C and case to 32C too. Again the games freeze after 15 mins or so. So cooling aint my problem.

Next was the PSU, upgraded from 350W to 550W, still problem is there!

I have altered memory timings, increased bios aperture from 128MB to 256MB, increased voltage supplied to RAM and GPU, ran AdAware and Bazooka with latest updates, tried just one stick of RAM in each slot, Formatted several times. Set bios to basic settings, cleared CMOS. And guess what, the games still freeze after playing for a while.

Just recently after installing GPU Cooler and Aero 7+ i have been able to play for half hour or so?? Weird!!

Please if anyone has any ideas i will be happy to try them.

Thanks

Chalky

Comp Spec:
XP Pro with Mc Affee Antivirus installed and SP1
2100+ AMD (~1743Mhz) with Aero 7+ Cooler
MSI K7N2 Delta-ILSR mobo
1 GB RAM (2x 512MB TwinX XMS Corsair)
Radeon 9700 Pro with Arctic VGA Silencer Cooler
CD-R Drive
DVD Drive
Floppy Drive
__________________

chalky is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 08:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Default

either reformat or u have a lot of spyware, in that case use ad aware
__________________

__________________
amd 3200+ barton
gigabyte 7N400-L mobo
512 kingston
maxtor 40 gb
ati radeon 9600 XT
430 watt psu
thermaltake xtreme volcano 12 hsf
tOny mOnt4n4 is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 08:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33
Default

i dont have any spyware i have used several progs and my comp is clean.
Already reformatted 2-3 times.

Arrghh its driving me insane.

Any other suggestions are v welcome.

chalky
chalky is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 08:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Bios Update? might help.....
Update ALL your drivers to the latest ones, including Direct X and any motherboard drivers like VIA's service packs

I noticed you're running the same board I have, the Nforce 2 one, remember to get the updated Nvidia Nforce driver set

http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/nforce_udp_winxp_4.24

Also, get the latest radeon driver
http://www.ati.com/support/drivers/w...16&submit.y=10
AdamD is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 09:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33
Default

have updated bios, will try updating nforce and ATI drivers in mornig and let you know what happens,
thanks
chalky

heres hoping!
chalky is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 10:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

It'sa faulty piece of hardware, probably your proc or video card.
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 11:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

Seems like youve tried everything except replacing your processor and video card. Seeing as the video card is where most gaming stuff occurs, i would try that first. If you have a friend with a compatible video card, just swap them and see if the same thing happens on his computer, and if its fixed on yours. If not try the processor.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 07:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33
Default

I was hoping it wouldn't be GPU cos it cost me an arm and a leg at the time. (£250) Been thinkin of gettin new processor anyways AMD 3200+ Barton so will get that soon and just hope it solves it. if not looks like overtime at work for new Graphics Card.

Thanks for help

p.s. is there any programs out there that can test vid card for problems.??


chalky
chalky is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 07:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 33
Default

I was hoping it wouldn't be GPU cos it cost me an arm and a leg at the time. (£250) Been thinkin of gettin new processor anyways AMD 3200+ Barton so will get that soon and just hope it solves it. if not looks like overtime at work for new Graphics Card.

Thanks for help

p.s. is there any programs out there that can test vid card for problems.??


chalky
chalky is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 07:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

What are your system specs?
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.