Freezing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2005, 02:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Default Freezing

hello guys,First time on this forum here,and i think that i already have quite an hard issue here.

About 2 weeks ago,my computer started to act up.
It started to freeze at random times.No movement on the screen,and no sound from my speakers
Mostly for about 10 seconds.

A few days after the first freezes,my computer started to freeze period,No matter what i did,i didnt unfroze or anything.

Then the long time wrecking procces of trouble shooting began.
My first thought was that i might had some conflicting drivers,I went true my Device managed but found no corrupt things.

So i thougt it had to be hardware related.First i bought a new MoBo and a new CPU.
An Asus K8N and an AMD Athlong 64+ 2800

I know that these specs arent to great,but im a student,i dont have a lot of money.

My system still kept freezing after this upgrade.
I thought that it might be my memory.So i tried booting up my computer on only 1 stick of ram. And it froze again....So i thought that it might be the memory. So i basicly pulled it out,and stuffed in my other ram......Tobad it froze again.
Then i used my Brothers ram and froze again.So it couldnt be my memory either. (unless i tried 3 corrupt sticks of ram.)

So,next i replaced my HDD. From an 40gb IDE to 80GB sata, but tobad it still kept freezing at random times.

I tried to boot up my system with my brothers Gfx card,but my computer still kept freezing.

Then,I figured out....that it might be my PSU,after all,Connecting a Musketeer II, Aerogate II 2 cd players,1 HDD,and a mobo +cpu to a 400watt PSU couldnt be correct.

So last night i only plugged my mobo + cpu + Cd-rom + HDD in to my
PSU,and it didnt froze at all..........untill 2 hours ago. And it even started to freeze at boot-up!

im seriously desperate right now,and i hope that one of you techies can help me!


p.s Here is my Dxdiag,if u need more from it,please post

System Information
Time of this report: 2/6/2005, 21:04:57
Machine name: SICKMONKEY
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)
Language: Dutch (Regional Setting: Dutch)
System Manufacturer: ASUSTek Computer Inc.
System Model: K8N
BIOS: BIOS Date: 10/04/04 14:10:12 Ver: 08.00.09
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 2800+, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.8GHz
Memory: 1024MB RAM
Page File: 180MB used, 2790MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

Brian88 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 02:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 23

Do you have a graphic card hooked up?

strine is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 02:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8

Oops,yeah....forgot to post

XfX gforce 5700LE 128mb
Brian88 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 02:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 23

My situation is a lot like this right now. I thought I needed a new PSU outright, but I can't tell because my card isn't here right now. The freezing started happening after I bought my new mobo and AMD64.
strine is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 09:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8


My computer keeps freezing,i bought a new 550watt PSU but it doesnt changes a thing.
I replaced every single part of my computer!! :'(
Brian88 is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 12:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133

I think Somthing fishy is going on with xp or somthing , somtimes ill go through this period of my computer freezing and rebooting , other times it will just freez , never in windows desktop , only in games and not all games , anyways , after a day or so it will just stop doing it and computer will run perfectly , this has happened on a couple of my computer builds and never really figured out what it was.

And one day I was on a game playin along and all of a sudden about 5 other ppl started talking about how there computers would just randomly reboot or freez up , first thing that came to my mind is a new virus noone knows about yet , ya never know , it just seemed wierd that 5 ppl on the same game server started talking about how they are all haveing the same problem.
Athlon 64 2800+ clawhammer 512 kb
MSI k8t neo mobo
MSI 6600 gt
samsung 512 mb pc 3200
WD 80 gig ata100 7200 rpm
Onboard sound / realtek 5.1 based sound
7 year old cheap *** 17\" monitor but looks great , im surprised its still running , its bin through 5 computers so far.
RangerXero is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 01:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8

hehe,i think i found the problem.......

Pirate software wont make your computer run any better

Brian88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.