freakin confusing first build stuff - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2004, 01:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default freakin confusing first build stuff

After reading a lot of reviews I'm incredibly confused. To start, here's the system I just ordered:

CPU- Athlon XP 2500+
Motherboard- Asus A7N8X-X
RAM- Kingston 512 MB (1 stick) PC3200
Hard Drive- 80 GB Western Digital 7200 IDE
Video Card- PNY nVidia GeForce FX5200
Case- Antec Mid-Tower 350W
Optical Drive- Sony CD Burner 52x32x52

This system is just for normal daily operations with very little, if any, gaming. I've got a couple questions and have heard mixed reviews:

(1) There are some complaints about the cheaper Kingston RAM and the Asus A7N8X-X not being compatible. On the other hand, I've heard from some other people that their system worked fine. Are the people having problems trying to overclock, or did they get faulty parts, or have some new drivers fixed the problem?

(2) Will the 350W power supply be enough? I did the power supply calculator, and that said it would be fine, but some people here have recommened at least 420W for similar systems.

Thanks for the help. If you can't tell, this is my first build

PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 01:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN

personally i would never go below a 400Watt PSU... because if u want to do later upgrades, save ur money in the long run... and just buy above 400Watt PSU

<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157

350 should work fine. PSUs are cheap.
You light\'em we fight\'em
jayhawker01 is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 03:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536

350 Watts is fine for now... Like mentioned above, if you ever want to upgrade or add more peripherals... You are going to need a stronger PSU.

You have nothing to worry about the Kingson. It will work just fine.

Goodluck on your system!
ag3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.