Frames Per Second - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2004, 10:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Question Frames Per Second

I have had my system up and running for about a week now, and I have been playing games like Battlefield Vietnam, and Farcry in the highest settings. I know that people determine how well their system is running a game by seeing how many Frames Per Second picture is running at. So my question is, how do I tell how many FPS the game is running at, and how high does the the number need to be to make it worth playing in those settings? I have never really played Farcry before so I don't know what slowdown is to be expected. So I really don't have a base on whats fast and whats slow for that particular game.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 11:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

do a search for a prog called fraps. it will give you a readout of how many fps you have.
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 11:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

fraps will do the job. What u looking for is a smooth image at 40+ fps. U can have a sloppy, choppy image at 40, if u have bad ram. But yea, there u go
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 11:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i wouldnt use a extra prog to determen FPS.

every game has a built in FPS counter, just google for (game name _____ commands) or (game name ____ FPS command)/(console commands)

besides, using an extra prog prolly wont give u as acurate a reading, the prog itself will use up using some of the resourcess dedicated to run the game as fast as it can.
-------------------------------------------------------------
some of it is personal preference, but i wouldnt settle for anything unless its around 60FPS or higher.

unless of course your playing a very intensive game on a system that cant handle it.
jolancer is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 01:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

I ran the FRAPS program on Farcry, and I got an average of 40-50 FPS with everything maxed out, including the Anti Aliasing. I was hoping to get into the 60's or higher, but what I got is still very nice. I must admit I did not really notice any slow down, and the image looks great. I hope in the future to use eVGA's step-up program to get myself a 6800GT, or an Ultra, but ill have to see how money goes The true test will come when I can finally get my hands on Doom3.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.