Foxconn is now making Asus AMD motherboards. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2005, 10:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default Foxconn is now making Asus AMD motherboards.

Okay, so this is not 100% confirmed yet, but all recent Asus AMD based (K8) motherboards have the label FOXCONN on three of the headers.

If you search for any K8 Asus Mobo you can see Foxconn on the Audio header, paralell header and their is another hidden Foxconn thing under a label. So check out the K8V, A8V, A8V-E, A8N-SLI Deluxe ect and find this.

Here is a picture from my (dead) Asus mobo
http://img493.imageshack.us/img493/6316/foxconn6mp.jpg
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 11:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Just looked this up and the only thing I found was one other small report of an Asus board with Foxconn written on the USB headers

Now I'm not saying this claim is true or not...however I will look into this and see what I can dig up. I have to tell you not to "confirm" that Foxconn is making Asus boards based on such scattered evidence though

I must admit it would certainly explain a lot though...
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 12:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

i saw the foxconn label on the isa and pci ports of an old "intel" mobo if this is true foxconn has been doing this for a while.I always wondered why it said that too
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 01:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

I looked up the pictures and saw the same thing he did.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 02:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Hmmm. Interesting. Although this might look kinda bad, it doesn't mean that Foxconn makes everything on the mobo. It might mean that they manufacture some of the components and sell them to ASUS. It might be something like how I had a Plymouth Horizon with a Mitsubishi engine.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 12:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I am doing further research and going to send Foxconn an email.

Their seems to be two divisions, one for products and one for parts.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 03:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

i wouldn't go so far as to say foxconn is making asus boards... more like supplying various connectors for them. besides, you guys act like it's a bad thing.... foxconn has been making some darn good stuff lately, and they're making alot of their boards with WinFast boards, so they're pretty good (Leadtek and WinFast are pretty much the same company...same agent, same parts, same assembly place).... i think foxconn's going to become alot bigger sometime soon.


-edit-

here is a good way to browse parts they make http://www.foxconn.com/products/computer.asp
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 04:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Foxconn is already huge, their just not a common name.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 04:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

yea i guess that is true
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.