Found a AMD K6-2 550! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2004, 08:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

USD
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 08:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

fair enough so about $12 AUD then for me...thats probly more than the CPU is worth!
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 08:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default

Wonder how much itll cost to send the 1500+ and mobo.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-16-2004, 09:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Maybe 20-40
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 10:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 183
Send a message via AIM to AndTwenTy10 Send a message via Yahoo to AndTwenTy10
Default

I found a AMD Duron 750 in the trash...pins where bent up, fixed it and works perfect!
AndTwenTy10 is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 11:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

what's up with all these lucky people finding free cpus even if it's old. I want to have some piece of old nostalgia.. Seems pretty awesome to have a piece of old computer hardware.
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 12:08 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to The Rage
Default

The 550 was my 2nd CPU. I also found on the roadside! Sold it to upgrade to a Thunderbird 1.4. It is amazing how far processors have come. I have a XP2400+ now and it blows the doors off the 1.4
__________________
You wouldn\'t like me when I\'m angry
The Rage is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 01:33 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

when I went from a duron 1GHz to the 2400+ XP (not this xp-m I currently have, I have both XP-M and XP of the 2400+) it was like night and day basically. Couldnt believe the awesome speed. BUT now that I know CPU's better I realize that chip sucks with it's mere 266FSB and 256k L2 Cache...unless you can get a barton core 2400+
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.