Formatting a WIN XP drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2002, 11:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
Default Formatting a WIN XP drive

I have WIN XP installed and am using the NTFS file system. But I need to wipe the hard drive clean and format it with the regular DOS file system. I have booted from the floppy drive A and tried to use the DOS, but this does not work. Anybody have the solution?

tjw is offline  
Old 09-04-2002, 12:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,212

I belive you need to run fdsik first. You need run fdisk and remove the partion, then you can create a new fat32 partiton. Your boot disk should have fdisk on it. If it still dosn't work here is a website about removing nfts partitons -

At the end of the page is a link to a partion utility, which i belive is freeware which should be able to remove any partions you want. That should simplify things if you don't like using the comand line. I hope that helps.

Chopper is offline  
Old 09-05-2002, 11:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 15

you can also boot from a win98 SE disk and use fdisk (if you dont know how just remove everything you can starting form options 4 to 1 then re-add a primary dos partition); its in the tools folder i belive somewhere. then start windows setup; it will format in fat32 and you can cancel installatoin while/after it restarts your machine.
BeppoMarx is offline  
Old 09-06-2002, 12:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Martin's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422

Usually, for WD branded drives, I use WD's DataLifeguard Tools' partitioning utility when I need to make a clean conversion back from NTFS to FAT32 (though loss of all data).

Simply copy the prog files onto a floppy disk, and boot from it to start the utility.

Depending on your HD flavor (137 GB HDD and above or less), different versions of the utility of the tools are available here:
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 09-14-2002, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4
Default Thanks!

Thanks for the replies.
I finally did learn that going into CMOS and selecting CD as the bootup option works; BUT only if the bootup option of "Look for other choices" is also disabled, or else the computer automatically goes to the hard drive and uses whatever operating system is on it.
tjw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.