Formatting a harddrive. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2007, 07:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default Formatting a harddrive.

I have two hard drives, both have windows XP installed, and both are accessible on the computer. I am currently logged into E:, but want to format C:, if I right click it in My Computers, and format it that way, do I have to do anything so I can use C: as file storage disk?
__________________

Jehryn is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 07:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Nope....once it's formatted, you can use as storage right away.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 08:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Default

Keep in mind once it's formatted it's not gone forever. It's still stored on the physical hard drive. So if you plan on getting rid of your computer there are measures to prevent data recovery.
JT11 is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 09:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

but he`s using it as a storage device so once he starts putting new things on c: any data will be overwritten.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 11:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Correct. If he wants to sell the PC, I suggest powermax. It works on almost any HD and does a great job.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.