Formatting Hard Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2004, 10:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 44
Default Formatting Hard Drive

I need to format the hard drive. Can someone tell me in a very descriptive process what to do to format the HD. I've tried to boot for the CD but i don't even think i'm doing it right. how do i look at my bios settings? Do i have to press somthing what i turn it on? do i need to OS disk? As u can see i don't know much so please tell me how to do each step. I have a 60 GB HD in a Dell 2350, 2.5 ghz Pentium 4 Processor and 512 mb RAM.
Thanks SO much,
Jeff
__________________

oaktree5489 is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 11:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 118
Default

You need the windows installation cd. When you first turn your computer on, hold either f8 or f2, I can't remember which, to get to your bios. Then someplace it will ask you the order from which to boot from (usually 3 or 4 things, normally your hard drive is first). Just make sure your cd drive is the first one, save it, and exit the bios. Put the windows cd in and then turn the computer off. When you start it back up, it should boot from the cd and there will be some options. Eventually you'll get to a point where it will show you your hard drive and how it is configured now. Just delete all the partitions and creat new ones. Then it will reinstall windows, and you'll have a fresh, fast computer. Hope this helps some, let me know if you have any other questions.
__________________

__________________
My new toy!
AMD XP 3200+ Barton
1 GB Corsair Pro Series XMS Extreme Memory DDR400 (dual channel)
ATi Radeon 9800 Pro 256 Mb
DFI Lanparty NFII Ultra B
WD 74 GB 10,000 RPM Raptor
Aspire X-Alien Case with 420 watt PS
Lite On Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
Sony DVD-ROM
Sony Floppy Drive
Logitech Cordless MX Duo
XP Pro
blackwrx is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 05:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

1st U need a bootable window cd
2nd.When booting up your m/c press delete which will lead u to BIOS
3rd. Set your CDROm/DVDrom whick u put cd to first boot device
4th. Finally, restart your pc again n follow the instructions
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 09:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Try this Link.


http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=313348
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 10:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

In order to format your drive you will need a windows format utility. This utility is found in the Windows boot disks. If you have a floppy drive you can simply download a Windows 98 boot disk for free at www.bootdisk.com That will make a bootable floppy disk for you. You can also creat a bootable Windows 98 CD but you will still need the floppy to create the bootable CD.

Lets say you downloaded the Windows98 boot disk and created the floppy.

Once you do that, all you have to do is restart your computer and put the floppy in the A:

During the booting process, the computer will boot from the files on that floppy disk.

After all is said and done, you will be in a DOS prompt (A:\)

Just type Format C: and hit enter. You will be asked if you're sure a few times, just hit Y for yes and it will proceed to the format process.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 01:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 44
Default

Thanks didi i did that and it worked like a dream. A few steps and it's formatting and reinstalling windows xp. Sry i took so long to reply
__________________

oaktree5489 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.