Format problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2004, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 19
Default Format problems

I'm trying to format my c drive so I can do a clean install of xp and and add linux partion as well. I boot using a start up disk, but it will not let me do anything to the c drive. I just get an Invalid drive specification error. What is my problem?
__________________

Moody is offline  
Old 01-01-2004, 10:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 21
Default

Do you have a primary partition already?

I am assuming you do or else why would you be doing a "clean" install?

If not you need to run FDISK and set a partition.

If your sure you have a primary partition already try this,

Enter your BIOS at start up and make sure that your HD is listed so that you
know the machine should at least be able to recognize that a drive exsist.

Make sure that you enter the drive letter correctly, make sure you didnt rename it at some point.
__________________

gumshoe is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 07:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 19
Default next problem

I just fdisk and set up my partitions, but when I tried to format the drives I get 2 errors.

From A: I get "This program cannot be run in DOS mode."

From C: I get "Invalid media type reading drive C"

The Start-up disk I am using didn't have the format utility on it, so I copied it from the windows folder. Is that my problem?
Moody is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 08:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 18
Default

try going into programs and running from command promt and try going from there
andro is offline  
Old 01-04-2004, 08:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 19
Default

I have already repartitioned the hard drive. That wiped out the hard drive. Now I have a hard drive that has a couple of partitions that need to formatted. Besides, I'm pretty sure that you can't format from the command prompt. You have to be in DOS not the shell that the command prompt gives you.
Moody is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.