Format a drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2004, 10:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default Format a drive

I have a Dell, ugg, Dimension 8100 w/ ME, once again ugg, and it runs like ****. I want to wipe it clean and put xp professional on it. How would i go about doing this?
__________________

__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

if u got ur win xp cd, turn off pc, and in bios settings, but to boot on cd 1st, then put cd in, and reboot, and follow the instructions.
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 04:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default

my comp wont let me change the boot sequence, any help?
__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 04:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

You should be able to insert the XP disk while still running windows. It will begin the installation process and restart your computer. Though this isn't recomended if you can't change your boot sequence then this may be your only hope.

EDIT:
The disk may not autoplay however, you should be able to open the CD-ROM and find an Install.exe.
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 10:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default

But will this process wipe clean my hd, that's my main purpose.
__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 10:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

It depends. Is the XP CD an upgrade CD, or a full version? If it's a full version, I believe that it will wipe your hd.

If that doesn't work, you'll need to create a boot disk, and hope that the computer checks your floppy drive before your hard drive. If you can boot from the boot disk, you can type "format c:" without the quotes, and that will wipe your hd.

If you format the drive, and your XP CD is an upgrade CD, you're going to need the Recovery CD that should have came with your computer.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 10:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

i don't think so...you can download a win98 boot floppy,(or create one) and try booting with it. then type 'format c:'
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 10:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default

my cd is a bootleg version of xp pro. how would it create a boot disk.
__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 10:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm

Go to this link, and download the Win98 boot disk. It's been a while since I used it, but I think that it downloads an executable file that will give you step by step instructions on what to do.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 11:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

If your Windows XP CD is bootleg, look at this link:

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=1248
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.