format c: - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2004, 03:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default format c:

Prior to reinstall of winXP, tried to format c: (NTFS), but at the end an error message said that it had failed. But, the quick NTFS format was successful!
Anyone any reasons as to why, and ways to investigate/resolve?

cheers smurph
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 03:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

you will want to run scandisk
__________________

__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 04:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default

How do I do this in XP?
I've since re-installed everything, do you advise starting again?

Thnx smurph
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 04:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

hmm if you have a win. 98 boot disk, i believe it's on that
if not http://www.bootdisk.com/ to make one.
there may be an error on the hard drive. doing the fast format only rewrites the Partition tables. and wouldn't have found an error deeper on the hard drive
also you can right click the drive in windows xp and select properties... go to the tools tab it is there
__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 12:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Roshi229
hmm if you have a win. 98 boot disk, i believe it's on that
if not http://www.bootdisk.com/ to make one.
Is it Win 98 SE?

Do I have to format NTFS? WHICHONE IS BETTER?
kopenhagen is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 12:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I saw an NTFSDOS file, which allows you to access NTFS drives from a DOS boot disk, can't remember where though

I recommend formatting through DOS,
you might be able to format to NTFS with the NTFSDOS file, but if you can't, at least format to FAT32 since you have a 40GB drive, and then convert to NTFS
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 12:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
pt1
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Default

You could also try going to the Hard Drives manufacture's web site and downloading their hard disk utility to check the disk for errors. Just remember that most of these utilities wipe out all info on the drive.

Patrick
pt1 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 01:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

there is Seatools, which I've used a few times
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 05:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

No need for format. The Win98 bootdisk is not the same as Win98. Its just a DOS bootdisk with stuff like FDISK and CD-ROM drivers required to load Win98 from CD.

I would use your XP disc, boot with ir.. press "R" at some point in the menu's to load the recovery console.

Then type:
chkdsk /r

to scandisk for bad sectors etc.

Quick format and normal format are the same, except that the long format also scans for errors.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.