Folding Machine - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2004, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default Folding Machine

This is a 14 year old and not the DBA who is building the Pentium M server. Anyways, I want to build a 24/7/365 folding machine. I want it to be cheap and it can be AMD or Intel. The computer itself should come under $550 max ($500 preferrably). Thanks.
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 08:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

um... huh? what's a folding machine? Dont understand the question, could you elaborate a little more?
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 08:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default

If your speaking of F@H I'm glad to see you active with this. I have my stats for F@H in my sig. Do you have a monitor, keyboard, mouse and speakers or do you also need that in the $550.?

Josh
__________________
<img src=\"http://dc.liquidninjas.com/dc/ln_dc_sigs.php?xfahuser=Josh18657&xfahteam=13285\" >
Josh18657 is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 09:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

I am speaking of F@H. I do not want to put my main Pentium 4 520 @ 3.6 GHz machine in such a strain until I get my Gigabyte 3d Rocket Cooler-Pro. I am very active in this and I would like to have two folding machines going. I have a monitor, keyboard, mous and speakers. The $550 is just for the computer. I would prefer Abit as I see you are from them. I have always loved Abit and no problems from them ever!
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 11:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default

If this rig is going to be mostly just for folding a motherboard with onboard video should be fine along with a celeron CPU and 256MB of memory. We might be able to build you almost 2 computers with the cash

OS: $93.25
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...102-151&DEPA=6

Motherboard: $52.99
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-173&depa=1

CPU: $75.49
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...112-176&depa=1

Memory: $42.99
http://www.crucial.com/store/MPartsp...SPN=CT3264Z335

Hard Drive: $53.69
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...140-118&depa=1

CD-ROM: $19.50
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...101-209&depa=1

Case: $65.99
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...129-121&depa=1

Total of $403.90

I figured beige drive and case, black shouldn't cost much more if that is what you would prefer. I also didn't figure in a floppy drive but if you want one they should be like $12.00. I would recomend if you can find it to get an SG-72 motherboard instead, all this stuff will work with it also.
__________________
<img src=\"http://dc.liquidninjas.com/dc/ln_dc_sigs.php?xfahuser=Josh18657&xfahteam=13285\" >
Josh18657 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 02:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

The following set up is also in your price range, and will perform far better than the one listed above.

CPU- AMD Athlon XP 2700+...$105
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ctCode=80175-R

Motherboard- Biostar M7NCD Pro...$55
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...138-227&depa=1

RAM- 512 MB PC 3200 Kingston DDR...$86.75
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...141-413&depa=1

Hard Drive- Western Digital 80 GB IDE 7200 RPM ...$59.50
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-122&depa=1

Video Card- eVGA GeForce MX 4000...$36.50
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-198&depa=1

Optical Drive- Sony 52x32x52x16 DVD/CD-RW Combo...$39.99
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...106-818&depa=1

Case- Antec w/ 350W psu...$65
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...129-122&depa=1

Operating System- Windows XP Home OEM...$92.25
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...102-151&DEPA=6

Floppy Drive- Sony...$7
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-109&depa=0


For a total price of $546.99. That would be a very nice little computer, at a good price as well. A nice feature of the motherboard is that the RAM can run in dual channel.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 06:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default

and here I was trying to be cheapest and I also included S&H

one thing i forgot to mention in my above post is that if you happen to get a hyperthreading P4 it is best for folding to have this disabled.

Josh
__________________
<img src=\"http://dc.liquidninjas.com/dc/ln_dc_sigs.php?xfahuser=Josh18657&xfahteam=13285\" >
Josh18657 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 06:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 126
Default

Keep in mind that for a rig used just for folding, over 256mb of memory is useless, and also a combo drive is not needed. But if you like the specs in the second configuration you could save a few more dollars by changing those 2 things. Or you could get a faster CPU for my suggestion

Josh
__________________
<img src=\"http://dc.liquidninjas.com/dc/ln_dc_sigs.php?xfahuser=Josh18657&xfahteam=13285\" >
Josh18657 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 05:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

First of all, I'm not very keen about the AMD Athlon XP. I really don't want to use that. If I wanted to use an AMD, I would use an Athlon 64 or a Thunderbird (old).

However, I have an old Celeron on Socket 370 running at 800 MHz. I'm thinking that I should just strip that machine for parts and get a Tualatin motherboard. Then simply, I can get a Pentium III on Tualatin core. Plus, my Celeron has 512 MB RAM. Any suggestions or what?
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 05:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

First of all, I'm not very keen about the AMD Athlon XP. I really don't want to use that. If I wanted to use an AMD, I would use an Athlon 64 or a Thunderbird (old).

However, I have an old Celeron on Socket 370 running at 800 MHz. I'm thinking that I should just strip that machine for parts and get a Tualatin motherboard. Then simply, I can get a Pentium III on Tualatin core. Plus, my Celeron has 512 MB RAM. Any suggestions or what?
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.