folders wont open - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2004, 10:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default folders wont open

Hey.. it has been a while.. and i have a problem... my folders wont open anymore.. it will have that hour glass popup for 5 seconds then it will go away and the folder will not open... and when i shutdown the computer (never happened before) a "Sysfader" allways has to get the task ended. May i mention that all the applications work fine as long as you can get to them. It wont even let me into "my computer" folder.

raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348

so when you go to shutdown your computer, sysfader has to be shutdown manually?? Maybe try to end that task when you first start up and see if everything works. I remember i had this problem once but i just restarted and everything worked fine...

It actually sounds like theres a problem with your explorer, like maybe your explorer is a bit buggy or something. I would look at any programs you have installed lately and see about uninstalling them (and check if it works). If that doesnt work try updating your O/s, and if that doesnt work maybe a reinstall is on the cards??

ANyway sorry i cant be more specific about all this. Good luck anyway

sithspawn is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558

I did a google search on it, and found someone who said that it could be caused by a trojan virus. Have you run a virus scan lately?

Someone else said that this is supposedly a known problem in IE6, and is fixed in a later hotfix. Next question, then, is your system updated? They were kind enough to provide a microsoft link. I know it says problems when you open email message, but at the bottom of the page it says it affects all version of IE6.;en-us;828133
<img src=\" s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 11:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424

hmm well thanks for the help guys. I downloaded the Spybot in the downloads section here and ran it and it said i had 172 spyware applications. I ran the fix and everything works now... i am guessing my explorer was over loaded.
raiden_nrl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.