floppy drive problems... please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2003, 10:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
Question floppy drive problems... please help

Problem: floppy drive is not working...

Symptoms:
- drive is recognized in windows, but inserting a disk and clicking a: from explorer yeilds following: "please insert disk into drive a".
- from the command prompt, I type 'format a:' and I get the response: "the device is busy"
- the light on the drive is always on
- the drive never spins up no matter how I try to access it.
- the device manager shows no problems ('device is working properly'), and windows cannot find a better driver for it (its a basic TEAC drive)
- the driver listed is flpydisk.sys ver 5.1.2600.1106
- nothing in the bios setup tells that the drive is not recognized.

What I ahve tried:
- recabled, tried different cable, reversed cable connection to drive (mobo connection only fits one way)
- replaced with another floppy drive known to be working.

System:
- win xp pro
- asus p4p800 deluxe mobo
- kingston ram

I built the system myself this weekend, everthing else works great. Any ideas would be appreciated...

Thanks!
__________________

hyaynaldo is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 10:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 185
Default

I think i may wha tis wrong, i had this happen to my once before, but I am not sure if it applies to you. I know you said you tried to switch the cable, did try switching the power as well as the ribbon. I ask this because one time I hooked up the power cable backwards and the fdd light stayed on the time just you said yours is. If the is not it, then i would say new fdd time. Either way good luck.
__________________

__________________
dfi nfII ultr infinity/asus p4s800
amd 2500xp m/p4 2.6
ati 9600/ati 9600 pro
512mb pc3200/512mb pc3200
trebor is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 10:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

I had the exact same problem. Just flip the floppy ribbon cable over, that worked for me, the actual cables themselves sometimes don't have the little notches taken out, the bump on the end that you're plugging into the cable should be facing down on the floppy. Also I had this happen to me awhile ago and the floppy was actually bad, and anothe problem could be that youhave the power lead upside down.
__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 11:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

The floppy doesn't use IDE cables. It uses floppy cables.
__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Old 11-12-2003, 12:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

jus buy a new one, its only 13 dollars canadian
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.