Floppy drive help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2005, 05:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33
Default

Maybe I'm just stupid, but I can't seem to edit anything in my bios. Don't you just press enter on the entry and then press enable? It's like my bios is set read only or something, because everything is grayed out, except like the name of a sub directory, like VIA super IO device under integegrated peripherals (but I still can edit nothing in it).
__________________

contemptor is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 08:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Of the 3 things I listed, were you able to do any of them? If so, which ones?

If you still can't change anything, go to 'advanced chipset features' in bios & change the 'bios write protect' setting to disabled (if you can). This should only be need to be disabled if you are going to flash the bios, but try it anyway.

Also, have you tried clearing the cmos? (JP1 jumper, bottom right corner of your mobo)
__________________

Samm is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:08 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33
Default

Nothing worked because I can't even select anything to change them, cuz they're all greyed out except the main category. I know absolutely nothing about jumpers.
contemptor is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:25 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Maybe your BIOS has been password protected and is set to read only.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 12:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

u gota config in the bios so that it reads the floppy or else ur doomed
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 12:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33
Default

My bios is password protected, I have to enter the password to go into it. But how is it set to read only?
contemptor is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 12:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

clear ur cmos or tkae out the battery and the pass shud go away if u cant acces then ur done for u gota make the floppy boot up as a device from ur bios and u gota check if the bios is reading ur floppy like in slot 1 master/slave floppy is there or w/e u get wat im saying ..
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 01:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33
Default

Why should I have to remove the password if I know what it is? And I have no idea how to clear my cmos or anything. Won't that delete all my bios settings that I already have?
__________________

contemptor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.