floppy drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2005, 12:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default floppy drive

Yea i realize these are cheap, but yea well im cheap.... Anyway my floppy drive the light shows up on it, and its listed in my computer, checked the bios and its dectected it. The problem is when i put a disk in and click the 3.5 floppy icon, after a few seconds a message comes up saying please insert disk. Ive also checked the power cables and the ide cable, both were fine, and even tried changing the ide cable which did nothing. Id assume my drive is shot but something just doesnt seem right. I built this computer myself about a year ago, and id say the drive only ended up working for about a month... but i unforuntly i need it now to reformat. i know floppy drives can die fast, but one month?
__________________

MrEd is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 12:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Hmm..... You try using a different floppy disk?

What OS are you trying to install? You dont need a floppy if it is 2000/XP, you can straight boot from the CD and setup takes care of the formatting a partitioning.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 12:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default

Realy? i have xp, didnt realize i could boot from the cd, so used to do it the old way i guess. How would i do that then just run it like a regular cd?
MrEd is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 12:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

go into your BIOS, and make sure the boot order is set to boot from the CD before the HDD. Then restart with the CD in your drive, and pay attention. There will be a part that says "Press any key to boot from CD..." And will give you about 10-15 seconds before it boots from the HDD. Do that, and follow the instructions. When you choose the Install XP option, it will present you with the option of formatting the drive with NTFS, NTFS (quick), and FAT32. Go with NTFS, and not the quick one.
Him is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 01:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 25
Default

alright thanks, i kinda remember that now, il have try that in a little while after i back up my stuff
MrEd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.