floppy disk no ID address mark found - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2004, 03:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

BTW, I cannot select my burner either. It just doesn't include a "burn" option. You need to save it to the harddrive and burn it on CD using a buring program afterwards.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 03:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 36
Default

lmao, I might be female, and a little less technically minded than you, but yes, it's a burner!!!!

xxxxx
Mina
__________________

MistyMina is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 03:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Ok, lol
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 03:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 36
Default

hehe, so laughs aside.....any ideas why I can't backup on cd?!


xxxxx
Mina
MistyMina is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 03:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Because its not an option in the backup tool.
I will check a few more things on google, hope I can find something.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 03:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 131
Default

As to the floppy disk situation, my understanding is xp wants to see the media descriptor byte on the floopy disk, if its not there an error message is given. I found an old note on this for NT but it may serve for xp also. I have a bunch of floppy disks that will fail and cannot be formatted on my xp system.check here for disk media

I found one more reference- MS reference is here
Marvel is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 04:00 PM   #17 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Their solution is to format the floppydisk: http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;130627
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 04:08 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 36
Default Re: floppy disk no ID address mark found

Quote:
Originally posted by MistyMina
When I try to format the disk I get the following error message Windows cannot format this drive. Quit any disk utilities or other programs that are using this drive, and make sure that no window is displaying the contents of the drive. Then try formatting again.

It won't let me format the disk at all!!!!


xxxxx
Mina
MistyMina is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 04:12 PM   #19 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I know, that sucks.

I would save the backup to your harddisk and burn it on CD afterwards using the windows burning wizard (i think you need to rightclick the file, copy to...)
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-23-2004, 04:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 131
Default

This problem is really a pain..if your near a computer store ask for correctly formatted disks that will be accepted by xp. Take along a copy of the microsoft tech note. I have been meaning to do that myself one day because I got a whole box of these.
__________________

Marvel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.