Flexed motherboard a bit. Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2004, 10:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 13
Unhappy Flexed motherboard a bit. Help

Well I was installing a memory stick last night. I went to push down on the motherboard and noticed I was getting a good amount of flex and this made it very hard to get the memory in. I tried SEVERAL times to get the memory in and finally got it to snap in. (I pushed hard a few times.)

Now I'm paranoid I hurt the motherboard (like broke a trace or hurt a solder). (

The computer boots fine and ran stable under prime95 for over an hour after all of this. Seems to be ok, but how can I be sure?
My co-worker said boards are meant to take some flex and that since it's running fine, I probably didnt damage anything. Said he's flexed boards in the past without damaging them.

Opinions? How can I tell if something is damaged?
Thanks
__________________

stabber is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 11:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Ussually you won't notice anything for a while. It there is a problem, unless it major, you either won't see it or it will take a while to become visable. I suspect that you are fine, as I too have "Flexed" a few boards without issue. Besides, even if there is a problem, you would have to replace it, not a warranty replacment thing...
Good Luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 11:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

I work in an environment where we repair electronic circuit card assy. Although it is possible that you have created a hairline fracture on one of the card's run, it is unlikely unless it isn't complete which is also unlikely. Yes, all boards will take some flex. Try running a few processor intensive programs for a while. Count yourself lucky and put those spacers between your MOBO and casing. That's what they're there for.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 12:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 13
Default

well I ran prime95 for an hour (55% cpu usage) and it ran great.

I also ran memtest for an hour, (100%cpu usage). It reported no memory errors

I'm running memtest86 right now as we speak. So you think I'll be ok?

I hate worrying
stabber is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 12:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

You will be fine... Stop worrying
Inaris is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 05:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i just hold the bottom and put oppisite pressure while i am connecting a cable or wire, no need for spacers
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 08:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

I wouldn't worry Mobos are designed to flex a bit
you should be fine
__________________

__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.