Flashing Lights when 'Power' Button is Pushed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2003, 09:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Default Flashing Lights when 'Power' Button is Pushed

I have a HP Pavilion 8140... when I attempt to turn it on the green light on the front and four keys on the keyboard flash. Nothing else happens. Might anyone know what this problem is and also how to solve it? TIA

poikilia is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 11:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Default flashing

The lights flash repeatedly and relatively fast... nothing from the monitor... nothing at all except the five flashing lights....

poikilia is offline  
Old 11-10-2003, 09:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247

Well you may want to check the site hp.com. I know on some of the newer compaqs which HP now owns they have incorporated post diagnostics in which will flash the keys on the keyboard along with beep codes. Oops, i just checked in HP.com and your system was built in 1997. Kinda old for a pc these days. It could be anything. When it is flashing all of these lights does the power supply fan spin. You may want to take the case off of the pc and see what all is working while you try to power it on. Check and see the Power supply, Hdd, and Cpu fan all are spinning while the lights are flashing. My first guess is probably the powersupply.

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 11-10-2003, 09:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 185

I agree with tech4hire, check you psu, see if the fans are turning, that will tell you if your getting power or not. Next check your ram, see if it seated properly. If it is not you noy boot up either.
dfi nfII ultr infinity/asus p4s800
amd 2500xp m/p4 2.6
ati 9600/ati 9600 pro
512mb pc3200/512mb pc3200
trebor is offline  
Old 11-10-2003, 11:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

maybe HP didn't connect the PS correctly to the mobo?
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.