Flashing Lights when 'Power' Button is Pushed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2003, 10:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Default Flashing Lights when 'Power' Button is Pushed

I have a HP Pavilion 8140... when I attempt to turn it on the green light on the front and four keys on the keyboard flash. Nothing else happens. Might anyone know what this problem is and also how to solve it? TIA
__________________

poikilia is offline  
Old 11-09-2003, 12:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Default flashing

The lights flash repeatedly and relatively fast... nothing from the monitor... nothing at all except the five flashing lights....
__________________

poikilia is offline  
Old 11-10-2003, 10:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

Well you may want to check the site hp.com. I know on some of the newer compaqs which HP now owns they have incorporated post diagnostics in which will flash the keys on the keyboard along with beep codes. Oops, i just checked in HP.com and your system was built in 1997. Kinda old for a pc these days. It could be anything. When it is flashing all of these lights does the power supply fan spin. You may want to take the case off of the pc and see what all is working while you try to power it on. Check and see the Power supply, Hdd, and Cpu fan all are spinning while the lights are flashing. My first guess is probably the powersupply.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 11-10-2003, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 185
Default

I agree with tech4hire, check you psu, see if the fans are turning, that will tell you if your getting power or not. Next check your ram, see if it seated properly. If it is not you noy boot up either.
__________________
dfi nfII ultr infinity/asus p4s800
amd 2500xp m/p4 2.6
ati 9600/ati 9600 pro
512mb pc3200/512mb pc3200
trebor is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 12:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

maybe HP didn't connect the PS correctly to the mobo?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.