Flashing Bios - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2005, 08:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default Flashing Bios

The mobo i use is a ASUS P4PE and the bios were last updated in 2002. Should i update bios to a new version? And what exactly is the purpose of updating your bios?
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

For the most part there is no real useful purpose except with the new CPU's like the winchesters that required a BIOS flash just to be recognized. If your CPU is working then don't bother flashing it.

In my case I use custom BIOS's because overclocking on this board can be limited with the manufacturer BIOS and different BIOS's can offer better stability.

You don't need to do anything though and shouldnt worry about it
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 08:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Updating the BIOS increases stability and reliability (there are exceptions). The most important part of a BIOS flash is forceware and compatibility extensions.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 08:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

All the above is correct, but be careful when you flash the BIOS. There can not be any interruptions during the flash. So make sure you dont do it during an electrical storm, if the computer turns off during the flash, your BIOS will be corrupted and you will be SOL. I would turn off unnecessary background programs like anti-virus and applications to be safe. Its a good idea to do flash it, just be careful.
__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 08:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I would turn off unnecessary background programs like anti-virus and applications to be safe.
Well if you flash in DOS like you should you don't need to worry about that

Gaara - it really doesn't add any noticeable stability unless they've made insane changes. If his system is already working fine and he's not overclocking it, he really doesn't need to change it. Even if he was overclocking it, generally upgrading to a newer manufacturer BIOS still won't do much.

Like I said if your system is running like it should, don't bother with it. I did write an article here about BIOS flashing and recovery if one goes wrong and how to hot flash (scary process lol) just click the 'computer articles' link.
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 11:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Question Thanks for explaining that but.....

The reason i'm even asking about "flashing bios" is because I’ve wanted to oc my processor. I press alt-f2 when i boot my computer and all i get is something stated about when i had flashed my bios last and directory that i can flash my new bios too....? I was thinking i'd get a screen saying stuff about voltage, FSB, Multiplier, ect....???? I can also press "tab" at boot but all that happens is some extra text comes up when booting the computer. So i'm thinking i need to flash my bios with a newer version to be able to oc Maybe
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 12:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

to OC your bios has to already have the options available. BIOS's don't unlock otherwise hidden features. Try Delete to get into the BIOS or just hitting F12 by itself
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.