Flashed wrong bios, it's game over isn't it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2005, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default Flashed wrong bios, it's game over isn't it?

Yup, i did it. I am a moron comes to mind but hey whatta do? So any suggestions? just get a black screen nothing else............
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 11:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Two words. New Motherboard. If you have oem windows, another os
__________________

__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 11:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yup, congratulations on your purchase of a new paper weight.

However.....you DO NOT need a new motherboard....only n00bs buy a new motherboard in this situation

Hotflashing your BIOS is the only way to go....I did that on my NF7-S v2 board when I accidentally flashed it with the NF7-S v1.2 boards BIOS.....what is hot flashing you ask!? Why....read here!

http://www.techist.com/computer_arti...g-recovery.php

An ingenius sucka named Nubius wrote it

It covers the basics of hotflashing.... also you might want to look into this:


In short hotflashing is putting in a working BIOS chip....turning on the computer, getting to the DOS screen with the flash program on a floppy...but before you flash you pull out the chip while the computers on (hence the term HOT flashing) and put in the dead chip....yes you guessed it right, this requires buying a new BIOS chip, but it's a helluva lot cheaper than buying a new motherboard

"Why do I want to hotflash then if I just bought a new working BIOS chip?"

because then you'll have a spare
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 11:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

so where do i order the new chip from THat frozen computer doen't support my mobo.
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 11:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default

Hotflashing?

Wow...sounds dangerous. You risk shocking yourself and/or short circuiting the motherboard by touching it while it's not only powered, but RUNNING...

__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 12:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

I guess the whole "crash free bios" thing doesn't do anything for me,right?
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 01:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
it while it's not only powered, but RUNNING...
Umm well generally 'powered' implies it's running unless you have some OTHER hardware problem to worry about.

Quote:
so where do i order the new chip from THat frozen computer doen't support my mobo.
Try contacting the manufacturer....generally they can either sell you one or atleast know of where to purchase one as I've had to give this info to someone before.


BTW: Of course if you're an absolute klutz then yeah perhaps you shouldn't try hotflashing, but I did it about 8 times because I was trying to put my NF7-S2 bios chip in my NF7-S and it's POST and all that, but award BIOS flash utility would prevent me from flashing with the NF7-S BIOS because they were too far different....I had originally flashed with a windows utility when I picked the wrong one so it didn't give me that message.

Some people will take a screw with the bolt all the way at the end of it and super glue it to the top of the BIOS chip so you have something to grab onto for easy removal assuming you don't have the proper tools to do it.....I used a paper clip and pried it out by putting the clip in the corner but I don't really recommend that method

Hotflashing sounds scarier than it is, but yeaaaah if you aren't a moron and resting your arm on your graphics card you'll be aright

get proper removal tool and it becomes even easier...I'm sure www.xoxide.com has such tools
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 05:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

nubius is right hot flashing it is probably best. thank god for the genius years ago who thought of caching the bios
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 05:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

Ok, i Need to use my computer as of yesterday because i'm in the middle of exams (distance courses)(yes, the day i fired my bios) so too bad for me but i gotta get a new mobo right away. My current mobo (the one i fired) is a socket 478 and a intel chipset 845pe. So when i buy my new mobo tommorow i obviously have to buy a mobo thats a socket 478 compatiable, but concerning the intel chipset 845pe- does that have to be the same as well? basically does the chipset and socket have to match my old board exactly? An explanation on this you be fantastic for a guy who just totalled his mobo.
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 06:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

You jsut need a mobo that is compatible with your processor. Will fit in your case. Compatible with the rest of your hardware specs. And correct psu, connectors.
__________________

__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.