fixing drives? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2006, 01:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default fixing drives?

Simple question:

How do you change it so Windows will recognize the DVD-RW drive as DVD-RW, with the logo at the top, and recognize a DVD-ROM drive as DVD-ROM, with the logo at the top?

Currently, i have a DVD-RAM drive and a CD-ROM drive. Is there any ways around changing it to say DVDRW and DVD-ROM? Drivers, patches?


If this helps, my optical drives are:

HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-4163B
Samsung DVD-ROM SD-608
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 02:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

try changing the icons for the drives..

im not sure if XP has built in Icons for DVD burners
but they do for CD burners and DVD players.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 02:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

sorry if this sounds stupid, but how do you change icon for optical drives? In properties, it's not there.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 02:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Currently, this is what my optical drives look like. The DVD-ROM drive is from Jan 00, is that why it's not recognized by XP?

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 10:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
sorry if this sounds stupid, but how do you change icon for optical drives? In properties, it's not there.
Try http://www.cryer.co.uk/brian/windows/howtocadi.htm
M4A1 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 12:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

do i have to buy a Dell for the optical drives to show up properly?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 07:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default

Did you try the method above?
M4A1 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 08:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ummmmm, are you OCD or something. this is hardly a critical issue . it doesn't really matter as long as the drives work properly

edit: i think i've got PMS lately
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 11:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I tried the method above, and i almost got it, but i can't find the right icon file.

(Looks like a CDROM drive with "DVD" adove it.) If somebody can find it, can you tell me where in the system it's located?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-27-2006, 12:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

OK, i just found the ICON when searching for icons for Nero.

I will try out the registry tweak...
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.